It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This archive illuminates the experiences of the LGBTQ community from 1940 to present. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for the LGBTQ community, including personal correspondence and interviews, gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights, health, and activism.
Archives Unbound presents more than 300 topically-focused digital collections of historical documents covering a broad range of topics from religion, history, the Holocaust, LGBTQ history, global studies, international relations, and many more. Click the Browse Collections tab to see the full list of content available.
The Artemis Primary Sources combines major archives of eighteenth and nineteenth century monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, and early photographs, including 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, 19th Century British Newspapers, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and Smithsonian Collections online.
Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. (Coverage 1972-2013)
Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
A result of Gale's partnership to create searchable archives of the Smithsonian's vast collections, this resource combines rare 19th and 20th century archival materials on topics such as the evolving modes of flight, World's Fairs, and trade literature, with recent and backfile issues of Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine. This comprehensive resource presents unique insight into history, science, nature, the arts, innovation, technology, and world culture.
Sources in U.S. History Online is a series of archival digital collections intended for public library patrons as well as high school, community college, and university students. The Civil War digital collection contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches--enabling students, faculty and patrons to study one of the key events in American history.
Much of history is one-sided, mainly focused on the male perspective; women's voices are not often heard. Women's Issues and Identities provides the opportunity to witness history from the female perspective. Global in scope, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society.