Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ONESEARCH JOURNALS & NEWSPAPERS DATABASES INTERLIBRARY LOAN RESEARCH GUIDES GET HELP

Streaming Video Collections

A guide to streaming video collections at Eckerd College Library.

Kanopy Access Changes

Why the Change?

Kanopy is a very popular online streaming service at Eckerd College. We began offering Kanopy in 2015, making a number of high-quality documentaries and feature films from sources like Janus Films (Criterion Collection) and the Media Education Foundation available to the Eckerd community through what is known as a patron-driven acquisition program (PDA). A PDA program allows users to decide what films the library licenses. Four views of a film trigger a one-year lease of the title.  This model has worked well as it provides the Eckerd community with access to Kanopy’s extensive collection. We have tried to control costs by limiting the number of collections available to our community, but continue to see skyrocketing costs that make unlimited access difficult to sustain.

In order to continue keeping Kanopy as a resource to support the academic program at Eckerd College, the Library will be moving to Kanopy’s Mediated Program for Fall 2020. Anyone at Eckerd will continue to have unlimited access to films that are already licensed (until their expiration date).  However, any unlicensed films must be requested via the online Kanopy form. Requests from faculty for use in teaching are first priority. Requests are received by library staff, who determine if the title is available in any existing collection.  If a title is not already available, we will forward a request to Kanopy to turn on the film. This process can take about 3-5 business days so we recommend that faculty plan ahead to ensure that the titles they want are available in time. In summary, Kanopy is not going away, but it is no longer an on-demand service so that we can better control our streaming video costs.

Kanopy’s PDA Model

Initially, Eckerd Library provided access to Kanopy content through what is known as a patron-driven acquisition program (PDA). A PDA program allows users to decide what films the library licenses. Kanopy makes its collection visible to our campus. Four views of a single film trigger a one-year lease of the title. Kanopy defines a view as a single viewing of a film for more than 30 seconds. On the fourth viewing, the film is “triggered” and a purchase is made by the Library. The purchased film is licensed for unlimited campus wide use for one year. The trigger happens behind the scenes and the viewer is unaware when a film is triggered. This limited window of 30 seconds means that films can be triggered even if they are not watched in completion.  

Kanopy's Mediated Model

The mediated option which goes into effect on 12/13/2019 will show a request form for any films in the collection that we do not already license. Faculty are asked to fill out this form and in your message, specify the use, including what course you will be using it for, whether it is for an in-class screening or for individual viewing outside of class, and a need by date. Once received, we may email you for additional information before the library purchases the film.  Please note that all currently licensed films will still be available for instantaneous viewing, the form will only be presented when clicking on unlicensed films.

About Licenses

Although Kanopy is different from Netflix, Hulu, and Amazon they do share one similarity – they only license content, they do not sell content. When we purchase a license from Kanopy or any other streaming video provider, we are essentially leasing the content, but do not own the content. Licenses permit access for a defined period of time, in the case of Kanopy, we primarily purchase 1-year licenses but have the option to purchase a 3-year license. If you have a film that you anticipate using over several semesters, let us know so that we can consider a multi-year license, which will save us money. Our licenses with Kanopy permit individual viewing from on or off-campus, course-related screenings, and even campus screenings to students, faculty, and staff.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What do I do if I want to assign a film for next semester?

Submit your request. The earlier the better so that we can budget for it. We will try to accommodate your requests as best as we can. We recommend submitting requests at least 3-5 days in advance of your need to we can make sure that you have access in time. 

What can I request from Kanopy?

The library will only lease films for course use. We will not lease films for recreational or general viewing. Our limited budget only allows us to support academic use of streaming video. You are welcome to view any already licensed content but requests for personal use will not be approved. However, we may have the film through other streaming providers or in our physical Film Collection.  

How do I request a license for a new Kanopy film?

If you click on a film title in Kanopy and see the Kanopy request form, it means we don’t currently have access. Complete this form and it will be sent to an Eckerd librarian for processing.   Please make your request at least 3 -5 working days before you need the film and include the following information to the extent possible:

  • Course name and number for which you will use the film 
  • Whether access is for an In-class screening or for individual viewing outside of class
  • Date needed

What happens after I make the request? How long will it take to get the film? 

The request is forwarded to Acquisitions staff, who will determine if the title is available in any other collection before approving in Kanopy. It takes at least 1-2 working days for the order to be processed in the Library and another day for it to be made available by Kanopy. Thus, we recommend submitting requests at least 3-5 days in advance of your need to we can make sure that you have access in time. Requests made over the weekend or after hours will be process the next working day. Once the film is available, a librarian will email you a link to your film. 

How do I find media options to use in my classes?

Start searching in OneSearch which will show availability of titles from Films on Demand and the Film Collection. You can search for films directly in Swank Digital Campus, Kanopy, and Alexander Street Press collections as well. It is our priority to ensure that faculty have the materials they need for teaching. If you are a faculty member looking for a particular film, feel free to contact us and we can help you identify the best options available.

More questions?

Please contact Nancy Schuler, e-Resources Librarian, or your collegial librarian,if you have any questions or problems using the site.

 

NOTE: Kanopy overview and FAQ text adapted with permission from Kutztown University.

Kanopy Request Form

You will see the following form appear for any films that the library is not currently leasing.  Please include the course name and number in the message section for which you will use the film.

kanopy request form