It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
The Chronicle, based in Washington, D.C., is a major news service in dedicated to covering academic affairs throughout the nation's colleges and universities. It is published every weekday online and appears weekly in print. Print issues are available in the Periodicals section of the Library.
Endnote Web is a web-based tool that allows you to store, share and organize your citations so that you can access them from any computer. By installing the Microsoft Word plugin, you can cite references from your library and automatically create your bibliography as you write.
All faculty, students, and staff can access the New York Times website directly by setting up their access via the Eckerd Library subscription. An initial one-time registration from ON-CAMPUS is all you need to access the NY Times online from your laptop, tablet, or phone from anywhere in the world. You can connect your existing NY Times account or create a new one. Access includes articles from 1851 - current, The New York Times Magazine, current access to the Spanish and Chinese editions, as well as access via mobile app (except NYT Crossword app). See our First Time Account Setup Instructions for more information about the process.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides convenient access to the style, formatting, and grammar guidelines provided in the book. Chicago is the style of choice for many professional journals within the social sciences, history, and anthropology.
HathiTrust is a collaborative partnership of major research institutions and libraries worldwide. It is a shared digital repository of library books and journals converted from print owned by research institutions. To login, choose Eckerd College from the list of partner institutions and enter your Eckerd credentials.
HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Content includes U.S. government documents, U.S. case law, and journals related to international relations, political science, and U.S. history.
Overdrive provides instant access to ebooks that can be downloaded to your PC, tablet, or smartphone. The librarian-curated collections include recent award-winning titles, socially relevant and sometimes controversial reads, and literature classics.
Swank Digital Campus provides streaming access to films and documentaries to supplement course instruction. Faculty can request content by searching for a desired title and submitting a request to the library for review.
All faculty, students, and staff can access the Wall Street Journal online directly by setting up their access via the Eckerd Library subscription. An initial one-time registration is all you need to access the WSJ online from your laptop, tablet, or phone from anywhere in the world. See our First Time Account Setup Instructionsfor more information about the process.