The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides convenient access to the style, formatting, and grammar guidelines provided in the book. Chicago is the style of choice for many professional journals within the social sciences, history, and anthropology.
The Chronicle, based in Washington, D.C., is a major news service in dedicated to covering academic affairs throughout the nation's colleges and universities. It is published every weekday online and appears weekly in print. Print issues are available in the Periodicals section of the Library.
Endnote Web is a web-based tool that allows you to store, share and organize your citations so that you can access them from any computer. By installing the Microsoft Word plugin, you can cite references from your library and automatically create your bibliography as you write.
All faculty, students, and staff can access the New York Times website directly by setting up their access via the Eckerd Library subscription. An initial one-time registration from ON-CAMPUS is all you need to access the NY Times online from your laptop, tablet, or phone from anywhere in the world. You can connect your existing NY Times account or create a new one. Access includes articles from 1851 - current, The New York Times Magazine, current access to the Spanish and Chinese editions, as well as access via mobile app (except NYT Crossword app). See our First Time Account Setup Instructions for more information about the process.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The Fortunoff Archive currently holds over 4,400 recorded testimonies of survivors or witnesses to The Holocaust. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with thirty-six affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel.
Individual registration is required to view materials in the archive.
Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history. The collection currently includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors.