LibGuides: Archives Guide: Finding Other Archives

Getting Started

When looking for archival resources, a lot is going to depend on what you are looking for. Think local to the topic then move toward something larger -- like a concentric circle. Some things to consider as you're getting started:

What time period are you researching?
What types of documents might you be looking for?
What have you looked for or found sources by any experts connected to the topic?
Are there any related bibliographies that might lead you to archival resources?
Has a Google search (with the topic and the word archive) returned any collections?
Are there other websites that might be able to offer information?
Has a university or college been the recipient of a collection that would be helpful in your research?

Archive research takes more digging and therefore more time. Make sure to give yourself plenty of time to dive into the research.

Archival Collections available through Eckerd College Library

Archives Unbound (Gale)
Archives Unbound presents more than 300 topically-focused digital collections of historical documents covering a broad range of topics from religion, history, the Holocaust, LGBTQ history, global studies, international relations, and many more.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 (Gale Primary Sources)
This archive illuminates the experiences of the LGBTQ community from 1940 to present through historical records of political and social organizations, as well as publications by and for the LGBTQ community.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A shared digital repository of library books and journals converted from print owned by research institutions. To login, choose Eckerd College from the list of partner institutions and enter your Eckerd credentials.
New York Times TimesMachine (1851 - 2002)
The TimesMachine contains digital replicas of New York Times papers from 1851 - 2002. You will need to login with your Eckerd-linked New York Times account to access this resource.
Smithsonian Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources)
This resource combines rare 19th and 20th century archival materials on topics such as the evolving modes of flight, World's Fairs, and trade literature, with recent and backfile issues of Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine.
Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies

Over 4,400 recorded testimonies of survivors or witnesses to The Holocaust. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with thirty-six affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel.

Individual registration is required to view materials in the archive.

Local Archives and Unique Collections

Florida Memory Project
Online access to select archival resources from the collections of the State Library and Archives of Florida. Florida Memory chooses materials for digitization that illuminate significant events and individuals in the state's history, and help educate Floridians and millions of other people around the world about Florida history and culture.
Tampa Bay History Center
Visit digital collections and the center located on the Tampa waterfront.

Historical Society of Sarasota County
Archives of the Ringling Museum / Sarasota
East Hillsborough Historical Society
Tarpon Springs Area Historical Society
Historic Hernando Preservation Society
St. Pete Museum of History
Dalí Museum - Center for the Avant-garde Library
City of St Pete Resource and Research Guide - includes links to several online collections documenting the city's history
USF St Pete - Local and Regional History Provenance (Finding Aids)
Hillsborough County Public Library Digital Collections

Special Collections

Digital collections of photographs, art, journal entries, and other documents often exist in libraries, historical societies, and museums around the world. To find one, you might try the following google search:

your topic "digital collections" site:.org or site:edu

*Be sure to note any usage rights associated with images or videos that you might wish to use in your film.

Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials (PALMM)
Cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship.
Jazz in Florida
Digital exhibit from the USF Libraries Special Collections.
Internet Archive's Wayback Machine
Search the history of over 411 billion web pages on the Internet.
Nature Illustrated: Flowers, Plants, and Trees, 1550-1900
From the New York Public Library Digital Collections.
Henry Ford Archival Collections
Includes photographs, drawings, letters, reports, motion picture film, and audio and video recordings
Biodiversity Heritage Library
World’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives.

Archives Guide

Directories

Select Digital Archives

National Archive Collections

Getting Started

Archival Collections available through Eckerd College Library

Local Archives and Unique Collections

Special Collections