Highlights the most important anthropology topics, issues, questions, and debates in the 21st Century. Includes applied anthropology, archaeology and paleontology, sociocultural anthropology, evolution, linguistics, physical and biological anthropology, and primate studies.
This new edition of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology provides a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes substantial entries, short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and glossary items.
The new entries reflect major changes in anthropology in the past decade: sub disciplines like medical anthropology have become more central to mainstream work in the discipline; recent work includes issues of gender and sexuality, and anthropology’s new ethnographic engagement with the central institutions of modernity like finance and science. Anthropology is now an unequivocally global discipline, so the second edition explores other traditions of anthropological work (Japanese anthropology, Latin American anthropology) as well as the processes of globalization itself.
Authoritative entries have been commissioned from among the world’s leading anthropologists. Alphabetically organized, the main entries contain clear, concise and provocative explanations of key anthropological themes and ideas, as well as surveys of the most important ethnographic regions and regional traditions of ethnographic research. Each major entry contains cross-references and a list of further reading.
The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world.
Spanning the period from the late nineteenth to the early twenty-first centuries, The Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology contains individually-signed entries, from A (Marc Abélès) to Z (Françoise Zonabend), from a global team of contributors and offers an important, and fascinating overview of the historical and contemporary reach of anthropological research.
The Encyclopedia of Archaeology makes all aspects of archaeology accessible to a broad audience of the general scientific community, educators, students, and avocational archaeologists. Professional archaeologists and anthropologists will also find the encyclopedia a ready source of up-to-date information on specialties outside their own expertise.
The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline. Featured in the Encyclopedia of Archaeology are articles by leading authors that summarize archaeological knowledge at the beginning the 21st century, highlighting important sites and issues, and tracing the development of prehistoric cultures around the globe. No existing work provides the breadth and depth of coverage as the Encyclopedia of Archaeology.
A unique and comprehensive historical guide to some of the world's peoples, from the earliest times to the present. Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures is a fascinating and informative guide to the myriad discrete ethnic and cultural groupings that have inhabited our planet over the past 6000 years. It presents - in a simple and easy-to-follow A to Z structure within five regionally based sections (The Americas, Africa, Europe, South and Central Asia and the Middle East, and East and Southeast Asia and Oceania) - clear, concise and readable histories of a significant number of peoples, nations and cultures: from the Assyrians of the ancient Middle East to the modern-day Armenians, from the Belgae of ancient Europe to the modern-day Basques.
A special publication of the American Anthropological Association number 23.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search for ebooks that you can read online or download to your e-reader. Click here for download instructions.
Print Reference Books
Use the call number to locate book in the reference section in the library.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
by H. James Birx (Editor)
Call Number: GN 11 E63 2006
v. 1. A-B -- v. 2. C-E -- v. 3. F-K -- v. 4. L-P -- v. 5. Q-Z.
Cultural Anthropology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Call Number: GN 42 .J33 2007
Ch. 1. General and social science sources, ch. 2. General anthropology reference sources, ch. 3. Methods and practice, ch. 4. Subfields of anthropology, ch. 5. Research areas, ch. 6. Humanities related fields, ch. 7. Area and ethnic studies, ch. 8. Supplemental resources
The Dictionary of Anthropology
Call Number: GN 307 .D485 1997
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Call Number: GN 307 .E525 1996
Countries and Their Cultures
Call Number: GN 307 .C68 2001
v. 1. Afghanistan to Czech Republic -- v. 2. Denmark to Kyrgyzstan -- v. 3. Laos to Rwanda -- v. 4. Saint Kitts and Nevis to Zimbabwe -- Index.