Communication

Covers the entire research process including: formulating research questions; sampling (probability and nonprobability); measurement (surveys, scaling, qualitative, unobtrusive); research design (experimental and quasi-experimental); data analysis; and, writing the research paper.

Survey and questionnaire design tips including sample selection, interviewing tips, and questionnaire design.

Resources on qualitative research, maintained by professor from the University of Georgia.

From The Writer's Handbook from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Created by David Lane, Associate Professor of Psychology, Statistics, and Management at Rice University.

Covers a wide variety of applications, including laboratory research (biomedical, agricultural, etc.), business statistics, credit scoring, forecasting, social science statistics and survey research, data mining, engineering and quality control applications, and many others.

A joint initiative from the European Journalism Centre and the Open Knowledge Foundation, this "free, open-source reference book" teaches both aspiring journalists and career professionals how to use data (and its analysis) to improve reporting of the news. In addition to helping journalists, this resource is useful for those in Communication fields to understand how they can use statistics and numbers to support and enhance major points in reports and publications.

"Ethics.Data.gov brings records and data from across the federal government [including Foreign Agents Registration Act (FARA) records,

Data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

"The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world." Includes research in areas such as Journalism & Media, Internet, Science & Tech, and Social & Demographic Trends.

An online compendium of studies on happiness or subjective well-being. Includes a bibliography of more than 7,000 publications and data covering 165 nations.