LibGuides: Communication: Evaluating Sources

Using the SIFT Method to Evaluate Online Media

The SIFT method provides a quick way to evaluate a source and includes the following guidelines:

The SIFT method was developed by Mike Caulfield (CC-BY).

Fact Checking Tools

Resources for fact checking:

FactCheck.org
A "nonpartisan, non profit 'consumer advocate' for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics.
FlackCheck.org
Sister site to FactCheck.org that "provides resources designed to help viewers recognize flaws in arguments in general and political ads in particular.
Google Voice and Reverse Image Search
Use the icons for voice and image searching to check for the origin of questionable images.
Politifact.com
Fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others on its Truth-O-Meter. The site is run by reporters and editors from the Tampa Bay Times, and has national recognition.
Snopes.com
Site that began research into urban legends has since grown into the "oldest and largest fact-checking site on the Internet, one widely regarded by journalists, folklorists, and laypersons alike as one of the world’s essential resources"

Library Reference Databases:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Database of over 240 encyclopedias and dictionaries in Art, Biography, Business, History, Literature, Religion, Science, Technology and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale eBooks) This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazine and news articles of information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to websites. Subjects include abortion, animal rights, bioethics, crime, education, health care, national security, pollution, sex education, women's rights, and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides direct access to over 18,000 quantitative data sources on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Data sources include market research reports, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Calling Bullshit

Want to learn even more strategies for identifying false claims and misleading information encountered in everyday life? See the videos and readings in this University of Washington course, Calling Bullshit (INFO 198/BIOL 106B) by Carl T. Bergstrom and Jevin West.