Film Studies

The Film Noir Foundation was created to serve as an "educational resource regarding the cultural, historical, and artistic significance of film noir as an original American cinematic movement." The materials on the site are divided into nine sections, including "Video Archives," "NoirCity," and "News."

Most likely the largest free database of its kind, IMDB catalogs millions of details for hundreds of thousands of movies. Reviews come from authoritative sources as well as site visitors. Information on directors, producers, actors, plot summaries, character names, running times, soundtracks, release dates, box office grosses, awards information, and more. Includes some reviews from various online periodicals. Television shows and movies are also included.

A growing compendium of essays, features, clippings, press notes, trailers, photo galleries, and interviews about important classic and contemporary films.

Records of past Academy Award winners and nominees. Includes Award category statistics and trivia.

The "greatest" and "best" in cinematic history. Award-winning site of classic films of the past century. Includes plot synopses, most memorable scenes, quotes, genres and more.

A joint effort by The Wisconsin Historical Society and the University of Wisconsin-Madison, this collection of Film, Theater, and Radio & TV collections contain many prized treasures from the past. The archives catalog (ArCAT) link is found to the bottom left of the page. Certain selections have been digitized for online viewers via the "Featured Collections" link with its aim to " provide authoritative scholarly websites focused on WCFTR collections that combine well-researched information with digitized selections of primary-source materials from our archives." Some examples of these "Featured Collections" include "The Rzhevsky Collection of Soviet Films", "The Golden Age of Television", "The Hollywood Blacklist Collections", "The Early Career of Robert Altman" & "The Papers of Kirk Douglas".

"The best free cultural & educational media on the web", this page from Open Culture provides links to "525 Free Movies Online: Great Classics, Indies, Noir, Westerns, etc."

Movies featured on Netflix, Best Buy, Blockbuster and iTunes.

Movie Review Query Engine features reviews for more than 100,000 movie titles. Includes viewer opinions.

View full episodes of indie films, cult TV shows and specials.

Movie trailers and reviews.

Independent film reviews, film festivals, filmmaker toolkit and more.