The African Diaspora Music Project was founded as a research tool to help singers find art songs for performance. Includes recordings, perusal scores, instrumental and chamber music, and curated lists by trusted orchestral conductors.
The latest international news, CD and concert reviews, articles, and many resources (in the form of a wiki) for music fans, industry professionals and researchers. Our definition of World Music includes traditional and contemporary folk and roots music from the entire globe, as well as cross-cultural fusions and hybrids.
"Our central Database includes 1,300 entries covering 2,400 court opinions (including over 30,000 pieces of data) spanning almost 200 years, fully summarized and searchable by numerous variables, featuring nearly every artist you'll think of (many you won't), covering copyrights and contracts, trusts, torts and more."
An Oberlin College Libraries and Sing Out! Collaboration. "An index to traditional folk songs of the world with an emphasis on English-language songs. Each entry includes the song title, first line of chorus, first line of verse, and full bibliographic information on the source. The index contains over 62,000 entries, and, to date indexes over 2,400 anthologies."
"A collaboration between Vanderbilt University's Blair School of Music and the University Libraries", "The Global Music Archive is a multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas."
This collection includes "more than 900 manuscripts containing approximately 42,000 pages [which] have been digitized and described. These include works by J. S. Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Debussy, Fauré, Haydn, Liszt, Mahler, Massenet, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Puccini, Schubert, and Schumann, among many others."
New Music USA is the result of a merger between the American Music Center and Meet the Composer. It is a portal to invaluable resources intended for contemporary musicians, composers and performers, as well as their audiences.
"The purpose of this web site operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use."
The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music. It provides cross collection searching to 22 sheet music collections and a total of 226,914 items.
American Choral Music, a collaboration of the the Library of Congress and the American Choral Directors Association, provides access to significant choral music in the public domain by the leading American composers of the time.
The Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship.
Consists of approximately one hundred sound recordings, primarily blues and gospel songs, and related documentation from the folk festival at Fort Valley State College (now Fort Valley State University), Fort Valley, Georgia.
The Juilliard Manuscript Collection is an extraordinary collection of 140 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions, which were donated to the school in February 2006 by Juilliard Board Chairman Bruce Kovner.
Provides today's drummers with information on important performers from the beginnings of drum-set playing to the present, along with video and audio recordings of performances and instructional materials. Not an academic resource, geared toward amateur and professional drummers.
Holding over 2,500 historical and contemporary musical instruments from all over the world. The Stearns Collection of Musical Instruments is one of the largest accumulations of such artifacts housed in a North American university.