LibGuides: TH 245: Scenic Design Research: Using the Library for Creative Research

Start Searching for Articles, Books, DVDs and More!

Library Map

Armacost Library - 1st Floor

Armacost Library - 2nd Floor

Key areas for visual inspiration

Consider the following sections of the library for resources to inspire your stage design:

Stacks - organized by specific subject areas
- D/E/F - History by area
- GR/GT - Costume and fashion design
- M - Music
- N - Visual Art
  - N 5300 - 7418 History
    N 8350 - 8356 Art as a profession, Artists
    NA : Architecture
    NB: Sculpture
    NC: Drawing, Design, Illustration
    ND: Painting
    NE: Print media
    NK: Decorative arts
    NX: Arts in general
- PN 2000 - Theatre
- Q - Science
- T - Photography
Graphic novels
Film Collection
Plays Collection

Don't forget to check out the online databases & websites as well!

Books about Stage Design

Making the Scene: a history of stage design and technology in Europe and the United States by Oscar G. Brockett; Margaret A. Mitchell; Linda Hardberger
Call Number: PN 2091 .S8 B6755 2010 (2nd Floor)
ISBN: 9780292722736
Publication Date: 2010
Light Fantastic: : the art and design of stage lighting by Max Keller; Johannes Weiss (As told to)
Call Number: Oversize Books ; PN 2091 .E4 K45 2006 (1st Floor)
Publication Date: 2006
Dramatic Spaces: scenography and spectatorial perceptions by Jennifer Low
Call Number: PN 1590 .A9 L69 2016 (2nd Floor)
Publication Date: 2015
Fundamentals of Theatrical Design by Karen Brewster; Melissa Shafer
Call Number: PN 2091 .S8 B6675 2011
Publication Date: 2011

Key Databases & Websites

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a collection of more than three million digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and the social sciences. It includes tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.
Platform update: ARTstor will be migrating to the JSTOR platform, and will be discontinued on August 1, 2024. In the meantime, you can continue using the exisitng ARTstor platform, or preview the new platform on JSTOR using the ARTstor on JSTOR link in the Databases list.
Bloomsbury Cultural History Collection This link opens in a new window
The Cultural Histories Series offers a rich and authoritative survey of different subject areas through Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire and the Modern Age.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
The Digital Theatre+ platform gives you 24/7 streaming access to award-winning theatre productions and a wealth of engaging educational materials. More than 500 productions from the Globe Theatre, Broadway HD, and the BBC, 450+ interviews and documentaries, and a wealth of supplemental teaching materials makes this a great resource for students and educators.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text of hundreds of academic journals in the areas of African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Archaeology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, Geography, History, History of Science & Technology, Language & Literature, Latin American Studies, Mathematics, Middle East Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Slavic Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.
Smithsonian Collections Online This link opens in a new window
A result of Gale's partnership to create searchable archives of the Smithsonian's vast collections, this resource combines rare 19th and 20th century archival materials on topics such as the evolving modes of flight, World's Fairs, and trade literature, with recent and backfile issues of Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine. This comprehensive resource presents unique insight into history, science, nature, the arts, innovation, technology, and world culture.

TH 245: Scenic Design Research

Creative Arts Librarian

Start Searching for Articles, Books, DVDs and More!

Library Map

Armacost Library - 1st Floor

Armacost Library - 2nd Floor

Key areas for visual inspiration

Books about Stage Design

Key Databases & Websites

Available Streaming