LibGuides: Creative Writing: Articles

Literary Journals and Magazines

Literary journals can be found in the following sections of the library:

1) Current Periodicals section (1st floor) listed alphabetically by title.

2) Journal archives by Call number (listed below, if available), or

3) Online through various databases (found through our Journals search).

The following list summarizes our literary journal holdings:

A Public Space (Periodicals)
American Letters & Commentary (Online)
American Literary Review (Online)
American Poetry Review (Online; PS 580 .A44)
American Scholar (Online; AP 2 A4572)
Antioch Review (Online; AP 2 A562)
Arts & Letters (Periodicals)
Atlantic Monthly (Online)
Bamboo Ridge (Online)
Beloit Poetry Journal (Online)
Blue Mesa Review (Online)
BOMB (Online)
Boston Review (Online)
Boulevard (Online)
Callaloo (Online)
Camera Obscura (Online)
Carolina Quarterly (Online)
Chicago Review (Online)
Colorado Review (Online)
Confrontation (Online)
Crazyhorse (Online)
Drumvoices Revue (Online)
Ecopoetics (Online)
Five Points (Online)
Fourth Genre: Explorations in Nonfiction (Online)
Georgia Review (Periodicals; AP 2 G375)
Gettysburg Review (Online)
Granta (Periodicals)
Hanging Loose (Online)
Harper's (Periodicals/Online; AP 2 H3)
Harvard Review (Online)
Hollins Critic (Online)
Hotel Amerika (Online)
Hudson Review (Online; AP 2 H886)
Iowa Review (Online)
Kenyon Review (Online)
Line (formerly West Coast Line) (Online)
LIT (Online)
Literary Review (Online)
Manoa (Online)
Massachusetts Review (Online; AS 30 M3 A22)
McSweeneys (Periodicals) - coming soon!
Michigan Quarterly Review (Online; AS 30 M48)
Midwest Quarterly (Online)
Minnesota Review (Online)
Mississippi Review (Periodicals; PS 501 M57)
New Criterion (Online)
New England Review (Online)
New Orleans Review (Online)
New Yorker (Periodicals; Online; AP 2 N6763)
Paris Review (Periodicals; Online; AP 4 P245)
Parnassus (Online)
Ploughshares (Online)
Prairie Schooner (Online)
Red Cedar Review (Online)
River Styx (Online)
River Teeth: A Journal of Nonfiction Narrative (Online)
Salmagundi (Online)
Seneca Review (Periodicals)
Sewanee Review (Online; AP 2 S5)
Shenandoah (Online; AP 2 S528)
Sirena: poesia, arte y critica (Online)
Sou'wester (Online)
South Carolina Review (Online)
Southern Poetry Review (PS 580 S66)
Southern Review (Online; AP 2 S8555)
Southwest Review (Online)
StoryQuarterly (Online)
Studies in the Fantastic (Online)
Subtropics (Online)
The Believer (Periodicals)
The Journal (Ohio State) (Online)
The Missouri Review (Online)
The Normal School (Periodicals)
The Sun (Periodicals)
Tin House (Periodicals)
TriQuarterly (Online)
Verse (Online; PS 301 P6)
Virginia Quarterly Review (Online)
West Branch (Online)
Western Humanities Review (Online)
Witness (Online)
Writer's Digest (Periodicals)
Yale Review (Online; AP 2 Y2)

Subject Specific Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text of hundreds of academic journals in the areas of African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Archaeology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, Geography, History, History of Science & Technology, Language & Literature, Latin American Studies, Mathematics, Middle East Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Slavic Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
A full-text database that cross-searches Gale's literature collections: Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writer Series, and Twayne's Authors Series.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the essential print volumes, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism and Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, offering scholarly analysis and overviews of classic and modern literature.
Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Wondering what book to read next? Books & Authors can help you discover today’s popular fiction and non-fiction titles as well as the classics of yesterday. See book reviews from top sources and make custom readings lists so that you always know what to read next.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the essential print volumes, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism and Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, offering scholarly analysis and overviews of classic and modern literature.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Twayne's Authors Online This link opens in a new window
Twayne's is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.