Creative Writing

An alphabetical list of topics from "A or An" to "-Wise".

The Purdue OWL provides many great resources here on topics such as Writing and Teaching Writing, Research, Grammar and Mechanics, Style Guides and ESL (English as a Second Language). In addition, writers will want to click on the "Professional Writers" link to the left which takes you to various resources arranged by categories of writing - be sure to check out the "Creative Writing" link.

Michael Quinion, a British dictionary editor (for the Oxford English Dictionary) and "word specialist" (including author of several books on words and their evolution) has created an amazing site dedicated to the ever-evolving words of the English language. "World Wide Words tries to record at least some part of this shifting wordscape by featuring new words, word histories, the background to words in the news, and the curiosities of native English speech."

Information about books, writing and publishing - including features (such as author interviews), jobs and markets, message boards, specialty writing, resources, and more.

High-quality materials on the art and craft of effective college-level writing are always in demand, and this website from the University of North Carolina Charlotte has a veritable cornucopia of such documents. The materials were created by the school's Writing Center.

AWP provides support, advocacy, resources, and community to nearly 50,000 writers, 500 college and university creative writing programs, and 125 writers’ conferences and centers.

ECWC is an intensive eight-day experience of intimate workshop classes, panel discussions, readings, book signings, and receptions and is designed for those who are passionate about writing.

This comprehensive database allows you to "connect your poems, stories, essays, and reviews to the right audiences by researching over eight hundred literary magazines...." Be sure to check out the broader website as well as "Poets & Writers, Inc., is" often referred to as "the primary source of information, support, and guidance for creative writers. Founded in 1970, it is the nation's largest nonprofit literary organization serving poets, fiction writers, and creative nonfiction writers." "For more than 20 years", their magazine of the same name "has been a trusted companion to writers who take their vocation seriously."

"You can search for writing programs by location or keyword, or view a calendar of upcoming writing events."

from Poets & Writers Magazine

"This collection of interviews with some of the 20th Century's most read authors reveals something of those imaginations and the personalities which lie behind some of the greatest modern novels."

"Celebrating and documenting the creativity of Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women, VG is one of the internet's most comprehensive and well-respected academic databases for women artists of color." This incredible resource is maintained by the English Department at the University of Minnesota.

"Writer’s Digest is the No. 1 magazine for writers, celebrating the writing life and what it means to be a writer in today's publishing environment." Their website also provides countless opportunities where "writers can connect with other writers" via their forum, blogs and by "sign[ing] up for...[their] free weekly e-newsletter." Writers can also "find weekly writing prompts, contests and competitions, conference listings, and online exclusive articles."

from the New York Times, this is a complete archive of the Writers on Writing column, a series in which writers explore literary themes.

Free eBooks.

"Sponsored" byThe Library of Congress, The Poetry Foundation and The University of Nebraska at Lincoln, this site "provides newspapers and online publications with a free weekly column featuring contemporary American poems. The sole mission of this project is to promote poetry: American Life in Poetry seeks to create a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture."

at The Library of Congress

Collection of audio recordings of leading 20th-century poets.

This "independent literary organization" and "publisher of Poetry magazine" "is...committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience."

from the Academy of American Poets