If the Eckerd Library doesn't own the book or article that you need, you can borrow from another library FREE OF CHARGE by placing an interlibrary loan request.
Off Campus Access
When accessing links on the library website from off-campus, you will need to be logged into your Eckerd Gmail account. If you are already logged into your Eckerd gmail account, you will see the following page to choose an account. For more information, see our FAQ page.
Please contact us via chat, email, phone, or come in to see us if you have any trouble accessing any of our resources.
ProQuest Family Health covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context - from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
ProQuest Health & Medical Database combines clinical research titles with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles, including in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing.
Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
PsycNET includes PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES and contains abstracts and citations of journal articles, book chapters, and book literature in psychology as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines such as psychiatry, sociology, education, anthropology, business, etc. PsychArticles contains full-text for 78 journals including all APA published journals, Canadian Psychological Association journals and Hogrefe Publishing Group - English-language titles.
Abstracts and full-text for Sociology and related fields (Criminal Justice, Gender Studies, Social Work, etc.). Abstracts for 1200 journal titles and full-text for 450 titles. Also, "SocINDEX features over 25,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database."
Popular vs. Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)
View this short video to learn quick visual tips for identifying the difference between a scholarly and popular article. (1:32 minutes)