Human Development

The largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States. APA is the world's largest association of psychologists, with more than 137,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students as its members.

Professional association with links to resources, conferences, products, jobs, and more.

The professional association for the field of marriage and family therapy. We represent the professional interests of more than 50,000 marriage and family therapists throughout the United States, Canada and abroad.

The largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world. NASW works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards, and to advance sound social policies.

Founded in 1979. It is an alliance of professional associations dedicated to the advancement of the arts as therapeutic modalities. NCCATA represents over 15,000 individual members of six creative arts therapies associations nationwide.

Association of early childhood educators and others dedicated to improving the quality of programs for children from birth through third grade.

Dedicated to the health, safety and well-being of infants, children, adolescents and young adults.

Professional organization of health care providers dedicated to improving the health and well-being of older adults.

Professional organization with a mission to promote research and education in aging and to encourage the dissemination of research results to other scientists, decision makers, and practitioners.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Part of the U.S. Department of Education.

"As the Nation's principal health statistics agency", The National Center for Health Statistics compiles "statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people." NCHS is part of the U.S. Center for Disease Control and Prevention.

With its "mission...to lead the Nation in bringing the power of science to bear on drug abuse and addiction", NIDA's website provides a wealth of information, including statistics and trends involving drug abuse in the youth population (click on a particular drug from the "Drugs of Abuse" category to see its prevalence in different teenage populations or alternatively, go to the "Related Topics" tab and click on "Trends & Statistics"). Another great feature is their "Publications" option which even allows you to find the appropriate resource for a particular audience (just click on "By Audience" to begin).

The Georgetown University Center on Education in the Workforce "studies the link between education, career qualifications, and workforce demands." Clicking on "Publications" and then "Reports" will lead you to some very useful findings, including statistics, on various employment situations. Examples of current reports include, "Hard Times 2013: College Majors, Unemployment, and Earnings" and "A Decade Behind [Projections of Education and Employment in 17 southern states through 2020]".

"The Pew Research Center’s Social & Demographic Trends project studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure....by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis." Click on "Topics" or "Reports" to find research on various topics such as most recently, "Breadwinner Moms", "Gun Homicide and Violent Crime", "Young Adults After the Recession: Fewer Homes, Fewer Cars, Less Debt", Second-Generation Americans", just to name a few.

A fascinating statistical site that shows real time statistics across many different categories such as "World Population, "Government & Economics", "Society & Media" "Environment" and "Health" data. "Worldometers is run by an international team of developers, researchers, and volunteers with the goal of making world statistics available in a thought-provoking and time relevant format to a wide audience around the world.

The Administration for Children and Families (ACF) is a federal agency funding state, territory, local, and tribal organizations to provide family assistance (welfare), child support, child care, Head Start, child welfare, and other programs relating to children & families. Click on "Data & Reports" to see the organization's latest research.

Non-profit organization focusing on children's rights with particular attention on the needs of poor and minority children and those with disabilities. Click on the "Research Library" tab at the top of the screen to view various statistics and data sets.

"The mission of the Data Resource Center (DRC) is to take the voices of parents, gathered through the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN), and share the results through this free online resource." See the "Browse the Data" tab on the top tool bar and the "Data at a Glance" map to the top right for individual "snapshots for each state".

This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.

The oldest private, independent, grant making foundation in the nation with a sustained focus on improving the life prospects of children. Source of the Child Well-Being Index (CWI), a composite measure based on 28 indicators in seven key areas of well-being.

Browse research and publications on a wide variety of "topics related to the health of children, adults, families, and populations".

Created by the US Department of Labor, the O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information.

Excellent resources for information about Graduate School Programs. Use the large search box in center of screen to enter your keywords, choose graduate and click search. Once you find a school that offers your program, go directly to the school website for more information about the requirements and program specifications.

This online reference book is published by the US government. Use this resource to find information about your career including: the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions.

"The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) is a leader in on-line global nutrition information. Located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL) of [United States Department of Agriculture] USDA, the FNIC Web site contains over 2500 links to current and reliable nutrition information." Check out the "Browse by Subject" option to the left of the homepage or the "Topics A-Z" tab at the top to get started. The "Databases" tab at the top right provides more options, allowing you to search both FNIC Databases (such as the WIC Works Education and Training Materials Database and the Healthy Meals Resource System Education and Training Materials Database) as well as Non-FNIC Databases (such as AGRICOLA, ERIC, PubMed).

Find many videos and audio recordings related to human development here by typing some of the following topics into the search box: "psychology", "sociology" and "gender studies". (Please note: After viewing three resources, you will be required to sign up for a free PBS account to continue to access additional resources).