Theatre

This site offers in-depth interviews with theater dancers, producers, directors, etc., as well as career guides, theater references, and scholarship/grant information.

Search this comprehensive database for "digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators."

The Internet Broadway Database "archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today." Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics.

"The Cyber Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre, TV and Film" includes a history, a"Who's Who" in musical theatre section, reviews, practical information on making musicals and much, much more."

The Largest Broadway Database on the Internet

Thousands of categorized theatre resources

The Wisconsin Historical Society and the University of Wisconsin-Madison have joined together to create the Center's tremendous Film, Theater, & Radio and TV collections (including the Ed Sullivan Collection) which contain many prized treasures from the past. You can get an idea of their immense holdings via their archives catalog (ArCAT) - the link is found to the bottom left of the page. As an online viewer, while most of these resources will not be accessible to you, certain selections have been digitized for you via the "Featured Collections" link with its aim to " provide authoritative scholarly websites focused on WCFTR collections that combine well-researched information with digitized selections of primary-source materials from our archives." Some examples of these "Featured Collections" include "The Golden Age of Television", "The Early Career of Robert Altman", "The Papers of Edith Head" (costume designer), among others.

Discusses the history and cultural significance of the Apollo Theater.

"Didaskalia is an electronic journal dedicated to the study of all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman performance."

Ichimura Manjiro (a renowned Kabuki artist) presents a wonderful introduction, including a history, of the traditional Japanese theatre form known as Kabuki.

"Absolute Shakespeare" is "the essential resource for William Shakespeare's plays, sonnets, poems, quotes, biography and the legendary Globe Theatre."

Arranged in three categories: comedy, history, tragedy.

"ArtJob features a comprehensive list of frequently updated jobs, internships, fellowships, and other employment opportunities in all areas of the arts, including visual arts, performing arts... and more."

"The National Source for behind-the-scenes jobs in the Live Entertainment Industry"

"Since 1994, Crew Net has been providing quality job information to entertainment talent, crew and corporate professionals."

"Browse thousands of entertainment jobs and internships."

Just click on the "Careers in Theatre" and "Jobs & Opportunities" tabs to get started!

"For more than 50 years, Backstage has been the most trusted place for actors to find career advice and casting information."

Lance Carter (a working L.A. actor)'s site is full of acting advice and interviews with "actors, directors, screenwriters, [and] casting directors...."

"Dedicated to the support of female dramatists to express their artistic vision without censorship, harassment, or personal danger throughout the world."

"To provide playwrights with time, space and resources in the company of gifted peers to create work, realize their artistic potential, and make lasting contributions to the theatre."

"One of the nation's most generous and well-respected theater organizations, the Playwrights' Center focuses on both supporting playwrights and promoting new plays to production at theaters across the country."

In addition to a "Forums" section where you may ask any of your screenwriting questions, this website offers a "Columns" section with "100 essays covering all facets of screenwriting, written by working screenwriters."

Free, online archive of primary source dialect and accent recordings.

Accents and dialects

"The World's Greatest Museum of Art and Design". Collection overviews with photographs and featured articles accompanying each subject provide excellent resources for research.

Peter D. Marshall's (working director and film school instructor) tips, articles and online resources for the independent film director. You can also subscribe to his free monthly ezine, "The Director's Chair".

A tribute to some of the greatest directors of predominantly English-language films, with suggested or recommended Best Films or 'Must-See' Films from their filmographies.

The national UK newspaper, The Guardian, offers their Theatre Blog online, featuring theatre buff and critic, Lyn Gardner. In this entry, renowned theatre director, John Caird, contributes some very practical advice for novice theatre (stage) directors. An interesting counterpoint to read as a follow-up is Chris Hill's (an "emerging" theatre director) response where he encourages aspiring theatre directors to "think outside" (just type "Chris Hill think outside" into the search box at the top right of the page to find his response).

"With over 50,000 costumes and textile artifacts from the mid-18th century to the present, the Chicago History Museum Costume Collection is the second largest in the world and one of the nation’s most complete repositories..." Offers digital collection of images for browsing online.

This website presents online, the entire "500 costume designs" from the book, The History of Costume ("printed from 1861 to 1880"), which has been translated into English from its original German. "These...[designs] consist...of historical dress from antiquity to the end of the 19th century" and "provide a source for researching plays which take place during the Victorian period, such as 'The King and I' or 'The Sea Gull'."

"The Costume Institute houses a collection of more than thirty-five thousand costumes and accessories, representing five continents and seven centuries of fashionable dress, regional costumes, and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present." Offers digital collection of images for browsing online.

Tulane University’s Louisiana Research Collection (LaRC) preserves possibly the largest collection of New Orleans Carnival paper and ephemera, such as invitations, dance cards, call out cards, printed float plates and bulletins, and original float and costume designs.