Information about artists and images of works (drawing, painting, photography, prints, mixed media and more) by contemporary artists from around the world.
The digitalMETRO directory is intended to provide increased discoverability and access to online collections created and maintained by member libraries of the Metropolitan New York Library Council.
Powered by Google, explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and create and share your own work
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."
The New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC) consists of the research libraries of three leading art museums in New York City: The Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, and The Museum of Modern Art. With funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, NYARC was formed in 2006 to facilitate collaboration that results in enhanced resources to research communities.
Collection of 200,000+ oil paintings from local and national museum collections in the United Kingdom. The site is a joint initiative between the BBC, the Public Catalogue Foundation, and participating museums and collections.
This site enables visitors to browse and download jpegs of large format digital files created through [this] project supported by The National Endowment for the Humanities and The Henry Luce Foundation. Future online collections include related photoarchive images and documentation, book materials, Frick Collection images, and archival documents.
Online catalog of approximately 500,000 photographs, including examples of almost every photographic process from the earliest daguerreotypes to contemporary digital images.
The UK's "National Photography Collection" "incorporates both aesthetic and technical developments, from the earliest experiments to contemporary digital imaging, including the world's first negative, an extensive collection of photographic technology, and key images by the most influential photographers of our time" and consists of "the Daily Herald Archive, the Royal Photographic Society Collection, and the Kodak Museum Collection, amongst other world-class objects and images."
More than 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Created by ceramic artist Vicki Hardin, this collection of links is divided into more than 50 categories such as Architectural Ceramics, Ceramic Masters, Crystalline Glazes, Kosai, Polymer, Raku, Terracotta, and more.
