Anthropology

American Anthropological Association

Updated regularly

Introductory tutorials on topics in physical and cultural anthropology.

Includes the Anthropology Outreach Office's two publications, AnthroNotes, A National Museum of Natural History Publication and Anthropolog, the Department of Anthropology’s newsletter.

Searchable online database of the quarterly journal of the Florida Anthropological Society, first published in May 1948. The journal publishes on a wide variety of anthropological topics relative to Florida.

Interactive tutorial developed at the University of Manitoba.

A peer-reviewed e-zine produced by a network of European researchers in multiple languages (including French, Spanish, Portuguese, and English - not all articles are available in English). Dates back to 1999.

"The EUscreen project [coordinated by Sonja de Leeuw, Professor at the University of Utrecht] aims to promote the use of television content to explore Europe's rich and diverse cultural history." "EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today." Click on the "Explore" option to get started. You will find, you can explore videos by "Topics", "Genres", "Languages" (choose from nineteen different languages, including English; note that even when videos are in a foreign language, they all contain a brief, written summary in English), "Providers" and "Decades".

Shows photos of fossils of different types. Browse by location, time period or type. Produced by the University of California Museum of Paleontology.

Explanations of various subjects of human evolution. Developed by the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History.

Fact sheets on individual primate species covering morphology, ecology, behavior, and conservation with range maps and images.

eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy. The purpose of this site is to enable you to view the bones of both human and non-human primates and to gather information about them from our osteology database.

The online skeleton is an introduction to the human skeleton in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. It started life as a section in a booklet on Forensic Anthropology produced at the University of New England.

The Handbook of Forensic Services provides guidance and procedures for safe and efficient methods of collecting, preserving, packaging, and shipping evidence and describes the forensic examinations performed by the FBI’s Laboratory Division and Operational Technology Division.

An expanded bibliographic inventory of over 350,000 reports on archeological investigation and planning, mostly of limited circulation. This database represents a large portion of the primary information available on archeological sites in the United States.

Brief definitions of archaeological terms by the Archaeological Institute of America.

Employment listings, meeting announcements, volunteer opportunities and archaeological discussion groups.

An encyclopedic reference work describing all of the world’s 6,912 known living languages.

Searchable database of information on over 7000 unique languages, using over 47,000 language names and alternate names. This database keeps track of those languages which have become extinct or are in imminent danger of becoming extinct.