Resources for Gulf Scholars

A digital collection of documents, oral histories, photos, etc. about the history, culture, and environment of Florida.

Visit digital collections and the center located on the Tampa waterfront.

Includes many FL history resources. A highlight is the Central Florida Memory Collection.

Part of the FGCU digital collections. The larger collection features history, photos, and The Big Cypress Collection of photos of the park.

Materials on history, historic newspapers, recordings, Caribbean newspapers....

Hosted at USF, this initiative brings together data driven scientific research on Florida's environment and makes it accessible to researchers around the world.

Over 6,000 historic and current maps available for classroom use. Browse by areas or subject.

Digital map collection at the P.K.Yonge Library of Florida History includes maps from the 16th to the mid 20th century. Many maps are digitized and searchable.

The Florida Department of Environmental Protection provides digital maps and datasets for research on its Geographic Information Systems (GIS) page.

Includes maps from UF, UNF, University of the Virgin Islands, and the U.S. Army.

Contains statistical information on nationality, mortality, marriage, and divorce from 1937 to the present.

Includes data on population, economy, environment, etc.

Water Rights & Resources focuses on legal issues surrounding access to and the delivery of water. This collection focuses on the various uses for water, from hydropower, to agriculture, to drinking water, and how increasing pressures on water supply from climate change exacerbates historical tensions over who has access to water for what purposes. It also includes documents on the effects of the Clean Water Act within this framework. Through government documents, reports, and legislative histories, as well as books, scholarly articles and more, this collection examines the many legal issues surrounding society's collective, vested interest in access to water.

The United States Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, is considered the most essential publication for unveiling American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the records in this series include House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, the American State Papers, and much more. The Serial Set is indexed and contains full-text coverage from inception to date. In addition, the HeinOnline interface is easy to search and browse and contains unique tools to help users quickly locate specific content.

This database provides access to a state's session laws back to inception and to current laws.

This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873), as well as other important congressional material such as hearings, CRS Reports, and much more.