ONESEARCH JOURNALS & NEWSPAPERS DATABASES INTERLIBRARY LOAN RESEARCH GUIDES GET HELP

Archiving COVID-19: Home

Project site for the Eckerd College COVID-19 Community Archive Project.

COVID-19 Community Archive Project header logo

Archiving COVID-19 Project

The Eckerd College COVID-19 Community Archive Project is a crowdsourced electronic archive that records the experiences of members of the Eckerd College community during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Each of us has been a witness to this historic time as the pandemic changes the way we live and we see a broader recognition of the great disparities that have been faced by black and brown people for generations. Everyone’s experience has been unique and there is an opportunity to share how we have individually and collectively interpreted and made sense of everything through journals, essays, poetry, fiction, research projects, visual art, photography, and video, within the Eckerd community and the outside world.

We invite you to share your own experiences from this year by contributing your work to the COVID-19 Archive Project. Submissions will be collected, preserved, maintained, and shared both inside and outside the Eckerd community.


TELL YOUR STORY
Whether you are a student, faculty member, staff, alum, or ASPEC member, share your story with us. How has this year influenced your life, your work, and the way you see the world? How have you adapted to this new normal? How has it impacted you and the communities you belong to? How do you see it unfolding at the local, regional, national, and global level?

You might consider the following formats for your submission:

  • Prose, poetry, personal reflections
  • Diaries and journals
  • Drawings, sketches, and other artwork
  • Digital photographs
  • Sound or video recordings
  • Interviews or oral history recordings
  • Original works of music
  • Correspondence
  • Social media posts
  • Zines
  • Digital storytelling projects
  • For faculty and staff: Revised syllabi or changes to academic programming resulting from the pandemic

This is an ongoing project and contributions will be accepted as long as the pandemic continues. If you have any questions, please Contact Us.

 

WHY ARCHIVES ARE IMPORTANT

The College Archives house the history of our institution, and tell the story of the people, ideas, events, and external influences that have helped shape the growth of Eckerd College since its inception in 1958. Archives and special collections preserve, organize and make primary resources available to educate and inform current and future members of the college community. Archive collections show us the College’s history as well as possible directions for its future, and are essential to preserve the legacy of the College.

Ask A Librarian

Profile Photo
Reference Librarian
Contact:
Peter H. Armacost Library
4200 54th Ave S
St. Petersburg, FL 33711
Email: libref@eckerd.edu
Phone: 727-864-8337
https://www.eckerd.edu/library