LibGuides: FI 230H: Film &amp; Identity: Film Reviews

Film Reviews vs Criticism

	Reviews “Will you like it”	Criticism “What is its significance?”
Published in	Newspaper, magazine, scholarly work	Journals, books
Written by	Journalists, scholars, depending on where it was published	Scholar, film studies expert
Might contain	Plot synopsis Focus on actors Personal evaluation of film Ratings More consumer oriented	Themes within the film Genre Structure and style Worth in comparison to other film Underlying meanings
Example sources	New York Times, Variety magazine, Entertainment Weekly, regional newspapers, etc.	Cinema Journal, Film Quarterly, Journal of Cinema & Media Studies, Film Criticism

Searching OneSearch

Find reviews for films by searching on the title of the film, along with any helpful terms (e.g. director, actors, etc.). Then, under Resource Type, click Reviews.

To search for contemporary reviews, use the Date to select the year (+/-1) in which the film was released.

Campus Wide Newspaper Subscriptions

New York Times Online (Registration link) This link opens in a new window
All faculty, students, and staff can access the New York Times website directly by setting up their access via the Eckerd Library subscription. An initial one-time registration from ON-CAMPUS is all you need to access the NY Times online from your laptop, tablet, or phone from anywhere in the world. You can connect your existing NY Times account or create a new one. Access includes articles from 1851 - current, The New York Times Magazine, current access to the Spanish and Chinese editions, as well as access via mobile app (except NYT Crossword app). See our First Time Account Setup Instructions for more information about the process.
New York Times TimesMachine (1851 - 2002) This link opens in a new window
The TimesMachine contains digital replicas of New York Times papers from 1851 - 2002. You will need to login with your Eckerd-linked New York Times account to access this resource.

Wall Street Journal Online (Registration link) This link opens in a new window
All faculty, students, and staff can access the Wall Street Journal online directly by setting up their access via the Eckerd Library subscription. An initial one-time registration is all you need to access the WSJ online from your laptop, tablet, or phone from anywhere in the world. See our First Time Account Setup Instructionsfor more information about the process.

Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Unlimited digital access to the WashingtonPost.com from on- and off-campus including expert reporting and analysis, award-winning investigative coverage and editorial commentary, real-time Q&A discussions, and access to live-streamed events. To sign in, use the Log in with Google option and sign in with your Eckerd email account. See our First Time Account Setup Instructions for more information about the process.

NewsBank

Online Collections

Media History Project
Digital collections of classic media periodicals dating back to the 1830's.
CineFiles
UC Berkeley Art Museum & Pacific Film Archive. Contains reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the PFA Library's extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present.
UC Berkeley Motion Picture Stills
American motion picture film stills from the 1920s on.

FI 230H: Film & Identity

Reviews Online

Film Industry Data

Film Reviews vs Criticism

Searching OneSearch

Campus Wide Newspaper Subscriptions

NewsBank

Online Collections