Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bedford / St. Martin's: Lit Links
Currently this site includes biographies of over 700 authors from the United States as well as around the world, although, it appears to still be a work in progress, (authors with last names beginning with letters M-Z are included, but not yet, authors with last names beginning with A-L). Each author's biographical page also includes lists of external links for further exploration (use the tiny scroll bar within each author page to view all links). Arranged alphabetically by author's last name, authors may also be found via the search box.
The Cambridge History of English and American Literature
"An Encyclopedia in Eighteen Volumes" freely available from Bartleby.com, this work is "considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published,...contain[ing] over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing."
Celebration of Women Writers
Arranged by author name, century, country, and ethnicity.
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Arranged in three categories: comedy, history, tragedy.
Iberian Language and Literature Web
"The Iberian Language and Literature Web is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in Iberian language and literature [from Spain and Portugal]".
Introductory Guide to Critical Theory
Dino Franco Felluga's (Associate Professor in the English Department at Purdue University, West Lafayette) "Introductory Guide to Critical Theory" is an excellent resource applicable to a variety of disciplines, including literature, "for both undergraduate and graduate students who are beginning to learn critical theory, including guides to terms.... The site includes sample applications, annotated links to existing web sites, and also more-in-depth modules on specific authors." Click on the "Intro" link to the top left of the page for a quick introduction to how best to use the site's features.
Literary Resources on the Net
Comprehensive collection of links to world literature movements through the ages as well as links to "National Literatures". Maintained by Jack Lynch (Acting Senior Associate Dean of Faculty of Arts & Sciences, and Professor in the English department) of Rutgers University– Newark.
NINES: Nineteenth Century Scholarship Online
Searchable collection of scholarly digital texts and projects relating to 19th century studies.
Voice of the Shuttle: Victorian Literature Page
A comprehensive, well organized meta-site with pointers to all areas of the humanities. The Victorian Literature page includes General Resources, Course Syllabi, Criticisms, Journals, Listservs, etc. While some links on this page require updating, the majority of links are working and the index of Victorian authors is a valuable resource, indeed. "Voice of the Shuttle" is a project created and maintained by Alan Liu and a development team in the [University of] U.California, Santa Barbara, English Department".
World Wide Words
Michael Quinion, a British dictionary editor (for the Oxford English Dictionary) and "word specialist" (including author of several books on words and their evolution) has created an amazing site dedicated to the ever-evolving words of the English language. "World Wide Words tries to record at least some part of this shifting wordscape by featuring new words, word histories, the background to words in the news, and the curiosities of native English speech."
The Browning Letters
"This is an unparalleled collection of correspondence written and received by the Victorian poets Robert Browning and Elizabeth Barrett Browning. Featuring materials from the collection of the Armstrong Browning Library at Baylor University and the holdings of Wellesley College in Wellesley, Massachusetts, the letters in this collection are browsable and searchable by date, author, and first line of text."
An absolute gem of a resource, "Romantic Circles is a refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. It is published by the University of Maryland and supported, in part, by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH), and the English Departments of Loyola University of Chicago and the University of Maryland." There are so many great "circles" (tabs) to be examined from this cornucopia of resources. Be sure to check out the "Praxis" circle which leads to their "collection of original, critical & theoretical essays on Romanticism" from university professors and scholars.
CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts
"CELT, the Corpus of Electronic Texts, is Ireland's longest running Humanities Computing project. It brings the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture to you on the Internet, for the use and benefit of everyone worldwide. It has a searchable online textbase consisting of over 15.6 million words, in 1321 contemporary and historical documents from many areas, including literature and the other arts." Click on the "Published" link to find a list of their Published Texts, including a linked Table of Contents for easier searching. Clicking on different centuries will lead to many literary texts from famous Irish (and some British) authors of that time period. There are options to find texts in various languages including Irish, English, Latin and an old form of French (Hiberno-Norman). CELT also worked on a project which links relevant texts to an electronic Dictionary of the Irish Language (eDIL) for understanding Old and Middle Irish, spanning the years 700-1700 (www.dil.ie).