News - Literature - World - LibGuides at Eckerd College

The New York Times: Books

This quintessential review source covers both contemporary fiction and nonfiction from both American authors as well as writers that span the globe.

Historic Newspapers

British Library Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
A wide range of local and regional British newspapers that reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. This collection illuminates diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press over a period of more than 200 years.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers, monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
New York Times Online (Registration link) This link opens in a new window
All faculty, students, and staff can access the New York Times website directly by setting up their access via the Eckerd Library subscription. Requires an initial one-time registration from ON-CAMPUS. See our First Time Account Setup Instructions for more information.
New York Times TimesMachine (1851 - 2002) This link opens in a new window
The TimesMachine contains digital replicas of New York Times papers from 1851 - 2002. You will need to login with your Eckerd-linked New York Times account to access this resource.
The Times Digital Archive (1785-2012) This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2012.
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2012. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
Wall Street Journal Online (Registration link) This link opens in a new window
Full access to the Wall Street Journal online. Requires an initial one-time registration. See our First Time Account Setup Instructionsfor more information about the process.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Unlimited digital access to the WashingtonPost.com from on- and off-campus iTo sign in, use the Log in with Google option and sign in with your Eckerd email account. See our First Time Account Setup Instructions for more information about the process.

New York Times Access

New York Times Online (1851 - present)

We are transitioning to a new way to access the New York Times. To get started:

1) Go to http://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ while you are ON CAMPUS

2) Search for Eckerd College

3) Log into your existing NYT account (if you have saved a profile) OR create a new one.

4) Proceed with the setup instructions to start your access.

5) After this initial setup, you can use this same account to login via all your other devices and access the NY Times from anywhere, on or off campus.

To search the NYT Archives via the TimesMachine (full page issues) go to:

https://timesmachine.nytimes.com

NPR Books: Literary Fiction

Find "news about [contemporary] books [both fiction and nonfiction] and authors [both American and international writers] along with our picks for great reads" here. "Interviews, reviews, the NPR Bestseller Lists, New in Paperback and much more" are also included.

Literature - World

All Newspapers

The New York Times: Books

Historic Newspapers

New York Times Access

NPR Books: Literary Fiction

NewsBank