It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Examines three key life stages from a sociological perspective, exploring how enduring experiences, as well as transitions and events such as childcare, education, stress, marriage, career, addiction, friendship, parenthood, disease, spirituality, and retirement influence the individual's life course.
This book discusses the nature of developmental change from conception to adulthood. It considers the most important theories of cognitive development and examines the ingenious methods developed to measure cognitive abilities in young children.
Provides an interdisciplinary approach to everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting. It also looks at cultural issues, sex differences and the history of child development.
The Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships serves as a benchmark of the current state of scholarship in this dynamic field synthesizing the extant theoretical and empirical literature, tracing its historical roots, and making recommendations for future directions.
Print Reference Books
An Introduction to Theories of Human Development by Neil J. Salkind
Call Number: BF 713 .S245 2004
Trends and issues in human development -- The maturational and biological approaches -- Arnold Gesell and the maturational model -- The importance of biology : sociobiology and ethology -- The psychodynamic approach -- Sigmund Freud's psychosexual theory -- Erik Erickson's focus on psychosocial development -- The behavioral perspective -- The behavioral models of development -- Social learning theory -- The cognitive developmental view -- Jean Piaget's cognitive model -- Lev Vygotsky's sociocultural theory of development -- A comparative analysis -- Comparing theories of human development.
Human Development Theories by R. Murray Thomas
Call Number: HQ 783 .T57 1999
Publication Date: 1999
The Child by Richard A. Shweder (Editor);
Call Number: HQ 767.84 .C55 2009
Bringing together contemporary research on children and childhood from pediatrics, child psychology, childhood studies, education, sociology, history, law, anthropology, and other related areas, The Child contains more than 500 articles—all written by experts in their fields and overseen by a panel of distinguished editors led by anthropologist Richard A. Shweder. Each entry provides a concise and accessible synopsis of the topic at hand.
International Encyclopedia of Adolescence by Jeffrey Jensen Arnett
Call Number: HQ 796 .I58
v. 1 A-J, index -- v. 2 K-Z, index.
A Dictionary of Psychology by Andrew M. Colman
Call Number: BF 31 C65 2001
With over 11,000 authoritative and up to date entries, this dictionary covers all branches of psychology, including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, criminology, neuroscience, and statistics. It features comprehensive coverage of such key areas as cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods.
Encyclopedia of Psychology by Alan E. Kazdin (Editor)
Call Number: BF 31 E52 2000
v. 1. Aborti-bystan -- v. 2. Calkin-determ -- v. 3. Develop-Gooden -- v. 4. Govern-learne -- v. 5. Learni-opposi -- v. 6. Optimi-rapapo -- v. 7. Rape-system -- v. 8. Table-zubin.
Handbook of Psychology, 12 Volume Set by Irving B. Weiner (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: BF 121 H1955 2003
v. 1. History of psychology -- v. 2. Research methods in psychology -- v. 3. Biological psychology -- v. 4. Experimental psychology -- v. 5. Personality and social psychology -- v. 6. Developmental psychology -- v. 7. Educational psychology -- v. 8. Clinical psychology --
v. 9. Health psychology -- v. 10. Assessment psychology --
v. 11. Forensic psychology -- v. 12. Industrial and organizational psychology