HD 410: Theory Research

For your research assignment, you will be looking for primary resources written by your assigned theorist.  Here is a suggested research strategy for finding information written by your theorist.

1) Find Background information

• Use the recommended encyclopedias on the Reference Materials tab to find encyclopedia articles and biographies about your theorist.
• Skim articles to find titles of key books and articles written by your theorist.  Make a note of these titles and search for them using OneSearch.

2) Find books

Many primary sources published by human development theorists have been placed on Course Reserve at the library.

• Course reserves are located at the Circulation Desk
• Materials are in-library use only, and can be checked out for 2-hours (one at a time)
• OneSearch will let you know if there are also digital copies on Archive.org

See also HD Developmental Theorists (Summary of Resources)

3) Find articles

• Some theorists have published primary sources within scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. 
• Use OneSearch or PsycNET (on the Articles tab) to find articles published by your theorist. 
  • Use the ‘Author’ dropdown.
  • Include keywords for theory.
    Examples: adulthood, attachment, racial identity, family
• Citation chaining. Use the References page of a related article to find original research by your theorist.
  Uncheck “Full Text Articles” for ILL options
• Accessing articles
  • Some articles will be available electronically via full-text access
  • Other articles may be available in print serials in the library
  • Other articles may only be available via Interlibrary Loan

Ask a librarian if you need help!

1) Use keywords instead of long sentences

Search with question/statement: How is artificial intelligence used to show sponsored ads in Facebook

>> Returns very few, highly irrelevant results.

Instead, search 2 - 3 concepts at a time derived from your research question:

artificial intelligence

advertisements

social media

 

2) Put search terms into the Advanced Search

Using the Advanced Search will allow you to build a stronger search query.  The advanced search can be found below the main search box on the Library homepage:

3) Search Essentials

Use Boolean Operators to separate terms and add relevant ones. 

• AND - Limits your search (fewer results) by combining search terms
• OR - Expands your search (more results) by including synonyms and related terms
• NOT - Limits your search (fewer results) by excluding irrelevant keywords
• Use drop down menus when you are searching for a specific author, title, publication, or subject heading for more precise searching.

Phrase searching

• Add "quotation marks" around specific phrases
• Creates unique search term
• Focuses your search (fewer results)

Truncation/Wildcards

• Use wildcard (*) to truncate word so that more variations of word are found.  Truncation symbols vary by database but may include *, !, ?, or #.
• Expands your search

Example: child* returns results for child, childs, children, children, childhood, 

Example:  colo*r returns color or colour 

Example:

4) Search Limiters (left side menu)

Use Search Limiters to further narrow your search by date, format, and other aspects of a publication.  Search limiters are located along the left side of the search window.

Search limiters

• Available Online - shows only web-based content that Eckerd as access to
• Peer-reviewed Journals - shows only articles published in peer-reviewed journals, whether we have access to them or not
• Open Access - shows resources that should be available to anyone
• Available in the Library - shows only books and ebooks that the library has access to

Others to consider:

• Resource Type - to limit by format (e.g. book, journal, video)
• Date - to set range of years
• Location - for specific location in library
• Collection - for specific database the library subscribes to

5) OneSearch tools make your life easier 

• Email results
• Pin/Add item to Favorites
• Cite - choose your format!
• URL - persistent URL for sharing/going back to articles