LibGuides: HD 410: Theory Research: Reference Materials

Databases for Biographical Information

Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale eBooks) This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Database of over 240 encyclopedias and dictionaries in Art, Biography, Business, History, Literature, Religion, Science, Technology and more.
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

Online Reference Books

Concepts and Theories of Human Development by Richard M. Lerner
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2002
Key Thinkers in Psychology by Rom Harre
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1412903459
Publication Date: 2005
Contributes to understanding the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is psychology.
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology by Noel Sheehy (Editor); Antony J. Chapman (Editor); Wendy A. Conroy (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0415099978
Publication Date: 1997
Provides biographical information and critical analysis of the influences and reception of people who have made a significant contribution to the field of psychology.
Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780028661629
Publication Date: 2008
Examines three key life stages from a sociological perspective, exploring how enduring experiences, as well as transitions and events such as childcare, education, stress, marriage, career, addiction, friendship, parenthood, disease, spirituality, and retirement influence the individual's life course.
Cognitive Development by Helen Dwyer
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1936333171
Publication Date: 2011
This book discusses the nature of developmental change from conception to adulthood. It considers the most important theories of cognitive development and examines the ingenious methods developed to measure cognitive abilities in young children.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development by Brian Hopkins (editor)
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2005
Provides an interdisciplinary approach to everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting. It also looks at cultural issues, sex differences and the history of child development.
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences by Robert H. Binstock (Editor); Linda K. George (Editor)
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2011
Handbook covers theory and methods, aging and social structure, social factors and social institutions, and aging and society.
Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships by Anita L. Vangelisti and Daniel Perlman (editors)
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2006
The Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships serves as a benchmark of the current state of scholarship in this dynamic field synthesizing the extant theoretical and empirical literature, tracing its historical roots, and making recommendations for future directions.