LibGuides: CM 303: Propaganda & Persuasion: PSA Research

Communication Journals -- peer reviewed

Articles, review articles and commentary on all aspects of applied communication and theory

Manuscripts relating directly to the understanding of human communication; research reports, critical studies, state of the art reviews, supported opinion papers, and other essays selected through blind review

Communication Theory:

Original articles and book reviews concerning linguistic and communications theories

Marketing Journals -- peer reviewed

Journal of Marketing Communications:

The Journal of Marketing Communications is a double-anonymized peer-reviewed journal devoted to publishing research papers and information concerning all aspects of marketing and corporate communication, branding both corporate and product-related, and promotion management.

Databases for your PSA Assignment

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Point and counterpoint resources on controversial issues with an extensive index of current issues.
PsycNET (PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES)
Online database and index containing searchable full-text articles and ebooks published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
SAGE Communication and Media Subject Collection
Sage Communication & Media Studies Collection covers such subjects as Business Communication, Cultural Studies, Discourse Studies, Intercultural Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Journalism, Literacy Studies, Mass Communication, Media Studies, Organizational/Management Communication, Political Communication, Public Opinion, Rhetoric, Television/Film Studies, and Written Communication.
Statista
Direct access to over 18,000 quantitative data sources on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Campus Wide Newspaper Subscriptions

New York Times Online (Registration link)
All faculty, students, and staff can access the New York Times website directly by setting up their access via the Eckerd Library subscription. Requires an initial one-time registration from ON-CAMPUS. See our First Time Account Setup Instructions for more information.
New York Times TimesMachine (1851 - 2002)
The TimesMachine contains digital replicas of New York Times papers from 1851 - 2002. You will need to login with your Eckerd-linked New York Times account to access this resource.

Atlantic (Registration link)
Access in-depth reporting and analysis from the Atlantic via our institutional subscription. Just go to the Atlantic website and use the Sign in through your Institution link to connect to Eckerd College's account. Access is available through The Atlantic website only (excludes mobile app access).

Wall Street Journal Online (Registration link)
Full access to the Wall Street Journal online. Requires an initial one-time registration. See our First Time Account Setup Instructionsfor more information about the process.

Washington Post
Unlimited digital access to the WashingtonPost.com from on- and off-campus. Use your Eckerd email address to sign up for an account on the Washington Post website. See First Time Account Setup instructions.