Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ONESEARCH JOURNALS & NEWSPAPERS DATABASES INTERLIBRARY LOAN RESEARCH GUIDES GET HELP

Faculty Library Guide

This guide describes the library resources and services available to you as faculty at Eckerd College.

Off-campus Access

Authentication
Libraries use proxy servers or single sign-on to provide their community with off-campus access to subscribed resources.  When accessing library resources from off-campus, log in with your Eckerd username and password, which assigns you an Eckerd IP address that enables access to various databases and journal collections. Eckerd Library uses an EZ Proxy connection to provide off campus users access to the Library's network of restricted databases. Only Eckerd community members with active Eckerd email accounts can access the network restricted databases. If you do not have an active Eckerd email account or have forgotten your login information, please contact Information Technology Services at 727-864-8318. Currently only enrolled students, faculty, staff, and ASPEC members are eligible for email accounts.

Accessing Resources from Off-Campus
When accessing links on the library website from off-campus, users will need to be logged into their Eckerd Gmail account.  This provides seamless access to Eckerd library resources, including e-mail and Moodle. 
 
If you are NOT already logged into your Eckerd gmail account, you will see the following Google login page where you can login. Be sure to include your username@eckerd.edu when logging in:

 
If you are ALREADY LOGGED IN to your Eckerd gmail account, you should not need to login again when opening a library link. Instead, you may see the following prompt to select one of your gmail accounts. ONLY those with @eckerd.edu domains will work.  
Choose a gmail account

Choose a gmail account
 
MULTIPLE GMAIL ACCOUNTS (IMPORTANT): If you are logged into a non-Eckerd Gmail account and click a proxied library link, you mayhttps://eckerd.idm.oclc.org/login?url= see the following error message from google.  Please log back into via your Eckerd gmail account and try the link again. 
 

Google error - wrong gmail account
 
If you continue to have trouble accessing library resources remotely, please contact us via chat, email, phone, or come in to see us. 

Whenever you are in proxy mode, the database URL will be preceded by "https://eckerd.idm.oclc.org/login?url=". As an example, a JSTOR link would appear as: https://eckerd.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/. If you follow a link beyond the database, you can either return to the database with your Back button or return to the library web page and log in again.