ONESEARCH JOURNALS & NEWSPAPERS DATABASES INTERLIBRARY LOAN RESEARCH GUIDES GET HELP REPORT IT

Scholarships, Fellowships, Academic Internships, and Grants: Interdisciplinary Art

This guide is designed to assist members of the Eckerd College Community in identifying scholarships, grants, academic internships, and fellowship opportunities.

Scholarships and Fellowships

Really cool site with lots of resouces.

http://www.collegeart.org/opportunities/type/1/

Opportunties

FUNDING RESOURCES FOR INDIVIDUAL ARTISTS 

The following list, organized by discipline, includes funders that offer one or more programs or awards that provide direct support to individual artists by application. This list is provided to facilitate the grant research process. Always read program guidelines and material provided directly from the funding institution to determine your eligibility to apply. 

VARIED DISCIPLINES 

Asian Cultural Council www.asianculturalcouncil.org 

The Awesome Foundation for the Arts and Sciences www.awesomefoundation.org 

Black Rock Arts Foundation www.blackrockarts.org 

Brooklyn Arts Council www.brooklynartscouncil.org 

Bronx Council on the Arts www.bronxarts.org 

CEC Arts Link www.cecartslink.org 

Cintas Foundation (Cuban descent only) www.cintasfoundation.org 

Creative Capital Foundation www.creative-capital.org 

Duke University: Center for Documentary Studies (film and photography) documentarystudies.duke.edu 

VARIED DISCIPLINES (CONT’D) 

Foundation for Contemporary Arts www.foundationforcontemporaryarts.org 

Jerome Foundation www.jeromefdn.org 

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Fund www.gf.org 

Lower Manhattan Cultural Council www.lmcc.net 

Mid-Atlantic Arts Foundation www.midatlanticarts.org 

National Association of Latino Arts and Culture (NALAC) www.nalac.org 

National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts www.youngarts.org 

National League of American Pen Women www.nlapw.org 

National Museum of the American Indian: Indigenous Contemporary Arts Program www.nmai.si.edu 

New York Foundation for the Arts www.nyfa.org 

New York State Council on the Arts: Individual Artists Program www.nysca.org 

Princess Grace Foundation – USA www.pgfusa.com 

Puffin Foundation, Ltd. www.puffinfoundation.org 

Queens Council on the Arts queenscouncilarts.org 

Six Points Fellowship www.sixpointsfellowship.org 

Staten Island Arts www.statenislandarts.org 

Sustainable Arts Foundation (visual arts and literature) www.sustainableartsfoundation.org 

VARIED DISCIPLINES (CONT’D) 

Surdna Foundation: Thriving Cultures Program / Artists Engaging in Social Change www.surdna.org 

The Vilcek Foundation www.vilcek.org 

LITERARY ARTS 

The Academy of American Poets www.poets.org 

American Literary Review www.americanliteraryreview.com 

Amy Lowell Poetry Travelling Scholarship www.amylowell.org 

The Astrea Lesbian Foundation for Justice: The Lesbian Writers Fund www.astraeafoundation.org 

Barbara Deming Memorial Fund (women artists only) www.demingfund.org 

The Christopher Isherwood Fund (fiction) www.isherwoodfoundation.org 

Elizabeth George Foundation www.elizabethgeorgeonline.com/foundation.htm 

Graywolf Press www.graywolfpress.org 

Hurston/Wright Foundation (African descent writers only) http://www.hurstonwright.org 

Lambda Literary Foundation www.lambdaliterary.org 

National Endowment for the Arts www.nea.gov 

Princeton University Hodder Fellowship www.princeton.edu/arts/lewis_center/society_of_fellows 

Speculative Literature Foundation http://speculativeliterature.org/grants 

MEDIA & FILM 

The Arch Bruce Brown Foundation http://aabbfoundation.org/grant-guidelines 

Center for Asian American Media (CAAM) www.caamedia.org 

Cinereach www.cinereach.org 

Creative District www.creativedistrict.com 

The Fledgling Fund www.thefledglingfund.org 

Wave Farm http://wavefarm.org/mag 

From the Heart Productions www.fromtheheartproductions.com 

Independent Television Service (ITVS) www.itvs.org 

International Documentary Association: Pare Lorentz Documentary Fund www.documentary.org/parelorentz 

Latino Public Broadcasting www.lpbp.org 

National Endowment for the Humanities (Documentary) www.neh.gov 

National Geographic: All Roads Seed Grant Program www.nationalgeographic.com/explorers 

New York Women in Film & Television www.nywift.org 

San Francisco Film Society (National Programs) www.sffs.org/Filmmaker360/Grants 

Sundance Documentary Fund http://www.sundance.org/programs/documentary-film#grants 

Tribeca Film Institute www.tribecafilminstitute.org 

The Women in Film Foundation www.wif.org/foundation/film-finishing-fund 

ERFORMING ARTS 

Actors Fund www.actorsfund.org 

American Alliance for Theatre and Education www.aate.com/?page=aatefunding 

Association of Performing Arts Presenters (APAP): The Cultural Exchange Fund www.apap365.org 

Bossak Heilbron Charitable Foundation (dance) Bhcf.grant@gmail.com 

Chamber Music America www.chamber-music.org 

Dance Films Association (dance films only) www.dancefilms.org 

Dramatists Guild Fund, Inc. www.dramatistsguildfund.org 

Franklin Furnace Fund for Performance Art www.franklinfurnace.org 

The Fromm Music Foundation at Harvard University (composing) http://frommfoundation.fas.harvard.edu 

Jerome Fund For New Music https://composersforum.org/program/jfund 

Jim Henson Foundation (puppet theater) www.hensonfoundation.org 

American Theater Wing: Jonathan Larson Grants (musical theater) www.americantheatrewing.org 

The Kleban Foundation, Inc. (musical theater) www.newdramatists.org 

The Multi-Arts Production Fund www.mapfund.org 

New England Foundation for the Arts www.nefa.org 

New Music USA www.newmusicusa.org 

Puppeteers of America http://www.puppeteers.org/who-we-are/grants-scholarships 

PERFORMING ARTS (cont’d) 

Sparkplug Foundation (music) www.sparkplugfoundation.org 

Theater Communications Group www.tcg.org 

VISUAL ARTS 

A Blade of Grass www.abladeofgrass.org 

Aaron Siskind Foundation (photography) www.aaronsiskind.org 

Adolph and Esther Gottlieb Foundation, Inc. www.gottliebfoundation.org 

The Aftermath Project (documentary photography) www.theaftermathproject.org 

Alexia Foundation (photo journalism) www.alexiafoundation.org 

The Astrea Lesbian Foundation for Social justice: Astrea Lesbian Visual Arts Fund www.astraeafoundation.org 

Barbara Deming Memorial Fund (women artists only) www.demingfund.org 

Center for Craft, Creativity, and Design http://www.craftcreativitydesign.org 

Emily Hall Tremaine Exhibition Award www.tremainefoundation.org 

En Foco New Works Photography Fellowship (photography) www.enfoco.org 

Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts www.grahamfoundation.org 

Harpo Foundation www.harpofoundation.org 

The Lillian Orlowsky and William Freed Foundation Grant (painters 45 or older) www.paam.org/education/the-lillian-orlowsky-and-william-freed-foundation-grant 

VISUAL ARTS (cont’d) 

The National Sculpture Society www.nationalsculpture.org 

The Joan Mitchell Foundation www.joanmitchellfoundation.org 

NYC Department of Parks & Recreation: Clare Weiss Emerging Artist Award (public art) www.nycgovparks.org/art-and-antiquities/clare-weiss-award 

Pollock Krasner Foundation, Inc. (2D work) www.pkf.org 

The Ruth Chenven Foundation www.chenvenfoundation.org 

United States Institute of Technology (design) www.usitt.org 

Virginia A. Groot Foundation (sculptors) www.virginiaagrootfoundation.org 

The W. Eugene Smith Memorial Fund (photography) www.smithfund.org 

William H. Johnson Prize (early-career African American artists) www.whjohnsongrant.org

INFORMATION RESOURCES FOR GRANTSEEKERS 

ONLINE DATABASES OF GRANTS AND RESOURCES 

NYFA Source, New York Foundation for the Arts NYFA Source is the most extensive national directory of awards, services, and publications for individual artists. Listings include over 12,000 awards, services and publications for individual artists and art professionals across the country. More programs are added every day to this online database. Tutorials on using the system are offered periodically by NYFA staff. source.nyfa.org 

The Foundation Center Established in 1956, Foundation Center is the leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide. Foundation Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants — a robust, accessible knowledge bank for the sector, including more than 108,000 foundations, corporate donors, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S. and over 3 million of their recent grants. It also operates research, education, and training programs designed to advance knowledge of philanthropy at every level. Thousands of people visit Foundation Center's website each day and are served in its five library/learning centers and at more than 470 Funding Information Network locations nationwide and around the world. The website features Foundation Directory Online, an extensive search engine for finding grantmakers, available for free and at subscription levels that offer increased information access –including a dedicated search engine for individual artists. The New York grants library is at 79 Fifth Avenue. www.foundationcenter.org 

PEN American Center PEN's Grants & Awards database is available for a low annual subscription, and contains more than 1,500 listings of domestic and foreign grants, literary awards, fellowships, and residencies. Grants & Awards is a comprehensive online database available to writers of all income brackets, at work in all genres, and at various levels of achievement. Search by keyword, genre, organization, or deadline. Updated every month, Grants & Awards is assured to offer the most current listings online. www.pen.org

NONPROFIT/PHILANTHROPIC PUBLICATIONS Find out what grantmakers, development officers and nonprofits are thinking and talking about by subscribing to nonprofit and philanthropic publications. Requests for proposals, new programs, trends and research are available that might help your fundraising efforts. 

The Grantmakers in the Arts (GIA) Reader Anyone can subscribe to the GIA Reader. Artists, grantmakers, arts managers, cultural critics, and historians contribute to GIA’s periodical, the Grantmakers in the Arts Reader, which features readings on arts and culture, reports from arts grantmakers, and summaries of recently published reports, books, and studies. www.giarts.org 

The Chronicle of Philanthropy The Chronicle of Philanthropy is the newspaper of the nonprofit world. It is the No. 1 news source, in print and online, for charity leaders, fundraisers, grant makers, and other people involved in the philanthropic enterprise. Note: this publication covers multiple philanthropic sectors and is not arts-specific. www.philanthropy.com Philanthropy News Digest Philanthropy News Digest (PND), a daily news service of the Foundation Center, is a compendium, in digest form, of philanthropy-related articles and features culled from print and electronic media outlets nationwide. PND offers listings of RFPs, jobs and classifieds for the sector, with a dedicated arts and culture RFP listing. philanthropynewsdigest.org 

Internships

The ARTS and HUMANITIES

 

Abbey Awards and Fellowships(Rome) Nine- and three-month residencies for emerging painters.

 

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Film Scholars ProgramTo stimulate and support new and significant works of film scholarship on cultural, educational, historical, theoretical or scientific aspects of film.

 

Albright Institute of Archaeological Research(Jerusalem) 32 fellowships in Near Eastern studies from prehistory through the early Islamic period, including the fields of archaeology, anthropology, art history, Bible, epigraphy, historical geography, history, language, literature, philology and religion and related disciplines.

 

American Academy in Berlin  (Berlin) Fellowshipsand distinguished visitorawards in history, economics, poetry, art history, journalism, law, anthropology, musicology, public policy, and writing, among others, but notmathematics or the hard sciences.

 

American Academy in Rome(Rome) Six- to 11-month residencies to 30 emerging artists and scholars in the early or middle stages of their careers in architecture, design, historic preservation and conservation, landscape architecture, literature, musical composition, visual arts, ancient studies, medieval studies, Renaissance and early modern studies, modern Italian studies.  

 

American Antiquarian Society Fellowships(Worcester, MA) One- to 12-month fellowships for research in American history, art and culture through 1876. 

 

American Association of University Women American Fellowships  Fellowships supporting women finishing research for publication.

 

American Center of Oriental Research Fellowships(Aman, Jordan) Fellowships in all areas of the humanities and the natural and social sciences which contribute to scholarship in Near Eastern studies.

 

American Council of Learned Societies Fellowships for humanities and social sciences, and interdisciplinary work, but notfor pedagogy, translation, or most travel.

 

American Historical Association (Washington, D.C.) One to twelve month fellowships in American history, 17th& 18thcentury European history, and history of aerospace.

 

American Institute of Indian Studies(India) Research fellowships up to nine months in anthropology, ethnomusicology, history, performing arts, political science, religious studies, and urban planning of India.

 

American Philological Association(Munich) One fellowship in residence with the Thesaurus Linguae Latinae Institute on Latin language and culture from the classical period through the early Middle Ages. Requires reading knowledge of German and advanced competence in Greek.

 

American Philosophical SocietyFranklin Research GrantsSmall grants to young scholars intended to support the cost of research leading to publication in all areas of knowledge.

 

American-Scandinavian Foundation(Scandinavian countries) Support for one year of research or study relevant to Scandinavian countries in all fields. Command of host country language expected.

 

Amy Clampitt Residency Program(Sheffield, MA)  Six- to 12-month residency for one poet.

 

Amy Lowell Poetry Traveling ScholarshipOne year of travel abroad for American-born poets.

 

Andrew Mellon Foundation

  1. Charles A. Ryskamp Research Fellowships Academic year fellowships for tenure-track faculty in humanities and social sciences.

2.    Frederick Burkhardt Residential Fellowships for Recently Tenured Scholars (Stanford or Can Marino, CA, Chicago, Cambridge or Worcester, MA, Research Triangle Park, NC, Princeton, Washington, D.C., Rome or Florence, Italy) Academic year fellowships in humanities and social sciences at participating national research centers.

 

Arizona State University Institute for Humanities Research

(Tempe, AZ) Visiting Fellows pursue interdisciplinary research and writing in critical exploration of an annual theme - 2013-14 theme is Home.

 

Asia Society Bernard Schwartz Fellows(New York, Washington, D.C.) One-year residency to direct an original project on Asia in international politics and the global economy.

 

Asian Cultural CouncilGrants tailored to the needs and objectives of scholars in traditional and contemporary arts, archaeology, architecture, art history, arts administration, arts criticism, conservation, crafts, dance, design (not commercial), film, installation, literature, museology, music, new media, painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture, theater, and video.

 

Association for Asian StudiesSome small grants administered in China, inner Asian, Japan and Korean studies, plus a comprehensive catalogue of other funding sources.

 

Aurora Foundation Japanese Language ScholarshipsScholarship and travel expenses to Japan to enhance the capabilities of those teaching Japanese.

 

Banff International Literary Translation Centre Awards(Banff, Alberta, Canada) Support for professional, published, literary translators in any language to have three weeks of uninterrupted work on a current project among an international community of colleagues.

 

Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Yale University(New Haven) One-month visiting fellowships to pursue research in the collection.

 

Bemis Center for Contemporary Arts(Omaha, NE) Three-month residency provides 36 artists with uninterrupted, self-directed work time, live/work studio with private bath and 24-hour access to wood shop, installation spaces and a large sculpture fabrication facility, with $750/month stipend.

 

Black Metropolis Research Consortium(Chicago) Short-term fellowships to provide access to archives and collections for artists and scholars in African American and African diasporic culture, history, and politics.  

 

Blakemore Foundation Language Grants(East or Southeast Asia)

1.    Blakemore Freeman Fellowships provide one year of advanced language study in Burmese, Chinese, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Khmer, Thai, or Vietnamese.

2.    Blakemore Refresher Grants provide mid-career professors teaching in an Asian field to refresh their language skills with a full-time language program for a summer or semester in Burmese, Chinese, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Khmer, Thai, or Vietnamese. 

 

Brown University John Nicholas Brown Center for Public Humanities and CultureThree-month fellowships to encourage thoughtful reflection and writing on public humanities and cultural heritage, to present their work at the JNBC, and to produce an essay, case study, instructional materials, or other documents for publication. 

 

Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts at the National Gallery of Art(Washington, D.C.) Seniorand visitingfellows programs support research in the history, theory, and criticism of the visual arts.

 

Center for Chinese Studies Research Grant for Foreign Scholars(Taiwan)Three-month to one-year fellowships to  pursue Chinese studies.  Subsidies include travel, research expenses, research materials service, liaison with universities and research institutions, and use of CCS facilities

 

Chiang Ching Kuo Foundation  (Taiwan) Support for scholars from the American region for research,sabbatical funding, matching funds for conferences, and subsidies for publicationson Chinese Studies in the humanities and social sciences.  Preference to collaborative projects with counterparts in Taiwan.

 

Cintas Foundation Fellowship in Visual Arts$10,000 fellowship for visual artists living outside of Cuba who are Cuban citizens or the child or grandchild of a Cuban citizen.  Visual Arts may include painting, sculpture, installation art, photography, film, and the media arts. Media arts encompasses narrative, non-narrative, documentary, animation, or experimental time-based works using audio, digital, film and/or video media; also included is computer art in which the computer is an essential element of the work's creation, presentation or understanding.

 

Clark Fellowships(Massachusetts) Up to $60,000 for one- to ten-month residencies at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute for study related to the visual arts, especially efforts to deepen, transform, or challenge methods currently practiced within art history and the role of images in other humanities disciplines. 

 

Council for International Exchange of Scholars (Fulbright Scholars)800 awards for research worldwide.

 

Davidson Family Fellowship at the Amon Carter Museum of American Art(Fort Worth, TX) Four-month fellowship in American art history within the museum's collections.

 

Folger Shakespeare Library (Washington, D.C.) One to nine month fellowships for studies related to the library’s collection.

 

Fromm Music Foundation  Commissioned composition.

 

Georgia O'Keefe Museum Research Center Fellowship(Santa Fe) Three- to twelve-month residency in art history, architecture, literature, music, and photography in American Modernism.

 

Getty Trust (Los Angeles) Three, six, or nine month interdisciplinary residency as a guest scholar in historical conservation, with an emphasis on the visual arts (including sites, buildings, objects) and the theoretical underpinnings of the field.

 

Guggenheim Memorial Foundation  Six to twelve month fellowships for mid-career faculty across the arts and sciences, though not for artists who interpret other people’s work (yes for composers or choreographers, no for performers or directors of compositions or choreography).

 

Howard Foundation $30k support for early mid-career scholars in rotating fields: 2012-13 in photography, anthropology, and archaeology; 2013-14 in painting, sculpture, the history of art and architecture; 2013-14 in playwriting, music, theatre studies, musicology and history

 

Huntington Library Fellowships(San Marino, CA) More than 100 fellowships for resident research in British and American history, literature, art history, and the history of science and medicine.

 

Institute for Advanced Study (Princeton) One term to multi-year visiting member fellowships in history of arts and sciences (combining humanistic disciplines, from socioeconomic developments, political theory, and modern international relations, to the history of art, science, philosophy, music, and literature), math, and natural and social sciences.  

 

International Residence at Couvent des Recollets(Paris) Three month residency for a Paris-specific project open to writers and artists in visual or performing arts.

 

Italian Academy at Columbia University Resident Fellowships(New York) One- and two-semester resident fellowships to pursue studies in cultural memory in global society, including scientific and technological connections and the neuroscience of cultural memory. 

 

Kluge Center at the Library of Congress(Washington, D.C.) Resident distinguished chairs and fellowships for up to one year for research in all areas of the arts and sciences.  Topic-specific funds include astrobiologypolitical economyforeign policy and international relationshealth and spiritualityAmerican studiesethics and American history, and folklife studies

 

Lady Davis Fellowship Trust Visiting Professorship(Israel) Visiting professorship in any field of study at Hebrew University. Applicants must be full or associate professors AND be sponsored by a member of Hebrew University faculty.

 

Leo Baeck Institute  New research on German-Jewish culture and history.

 

Liguria Study Center for the Arts and Humanities Bogliasco Fellowships(Genoa, Italy) One-month fellowships in archaeology, architecture, classics, dance, film/video, history, landscape architecture, literature, music, philosophy, theater, and visual arts. The Center also occasionally awards named fellowships in music, visual arts, dance, literature, and music.

 

National Air and Space Museum Charles A. Lindbergh Chair in Aerospace History(Washington, D.C.) is a twelve-month fellowship for to scholars with distinguished records of publication who are working on, or anticipate working on, books in aerospace history.

 

National Humanities Center  (Research Triangle Park, NC) Year-long resident fellowships for study in the humanities.

 

Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study(Cambridge, MA) One year residential fellowships for research in the humanities and social sciencescreative arts, and natural sciences and mathematics.  Opportunities for group applications and cluster studies.

 

Rockefeller Foundation Residencies(Bellagio, Italy) Month-long residencies for 12 scholars from all academic disciplines to explore topics relevant to improving life for the poor worldwide OR one to three month residencies and fellowships for fine and literary artists whose work is inspired by global or social issues. 

 

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Scholars in Residence Program(New York) Six-month residency for research and writing on the peoples of the African Diaspora, which may include social and hard sciences if the work contributes to the humanities.

 

School of American Research(Santa Fe, NM) Nine month residenciesfor scholars who have completed their research and analysis in the social sciences, humanities, and Native arts and who need time to reflect, debate, and write.  Of these,oneis specifically geared to scholars of Native American heritage.  There is also a two month summer residencyfor three scholars in the social sciences, humanities, or arts.

 

Smithsonian American Art Museum(Washington, D.C.) One year named residential senior fellowships in American art, visual crafts and decorative arts, American realism, or international contexts for American art.

 

Stanford Humanities Center(Stanford, CA) One academic year residential fellowship as external faculty in the humanities but not the creative arts.  (A single, separate fellowship in creative artsfor practitioners, critics, and scholars.)

 

Tanner Humanities Center at the University of Utah Humanities Visiting Research Fellowships(Salt Lake City) Research in the humanities, particularly Middle East Studies and women writers.

 

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Fellowships(Washington, D.C.) Three- to nine-month fellowships to support significant research and writing about the Holocaust.

 

Virginia Foundation for the Humanities Residential Fellowships(Charlottesville, VA) One- and two-semester residencies in any area of the humanities.

Associations

Resource that list Residencies

http://www.resartis.org/en/