LibGuides: Scholarships, Fellowships, Academic Internships, and Grants: Marine Science

Opportunties

Florida Sea Grant administers a number of scholarship and fellowship opportunities for graduate and undergraduate students at Florida universities. These are offered on an annual basis. Application deadlines are indicated below. Students are encouraged to contact Karl Havens, the Director of Florida Sea Grant, for additional information about these opportunities.

Resources for Students in the Natural/Aquatic Sciences

This resource was created by Anjali Boyd. Please take a look at it for lots of internships, support, and experiences. At the bottom of the document, there is a great set of listervs and job databases.

Marine Technology Society

This resource has a number of scholarships for students. Each year, MTS offers significant scholarships to college graduate, college undergraduate and senior high school students accepted into full-time marine-related programs with focus in marine technology, marine engineering and/or marine science.

Women in Divers Hall of Fame

This resource has a number of scholarships for students. The Women Divers Hall of Fame ™ (WDHOF) is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to honoring and raising awareness of the contributions of outstanding women divers. WDHOF provides educational, mentorship, financial, and career opportunities to the diving community throughout the world. Each year, WDHOF awards scholarships and training grants that provide financial and educational support to individuals of all ages.

General Search Sites and Databases

NSF Research Experiences for Undergraduates
The link takes you to the National Science Foundations database of Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REUs). The opportunities are for a range of experiences (ranging from Freshmen to Seniors).
Rochester Institute of Technology Summer Opportunities
The link is from the Rochester Institute of Technology, and it contains summer and fall internship experiences.
Pathways to Science
This link takes you to a page that has search areas for internships, scholarships, and help pages. This is a great resource for every stage of your academic career.

List of Listservs

Associations and Organizations

American Elasmobranch Society
The American Elasmobranch Society (AES) is committed to and proud of its student membership, and so supports and awards student research through multiple avenues.
AMERICAN FISHERIES SOCIETY
AFS recognizes excellence in its members and partners by supporting a number of Society-level awards, as well as awards at various Unit levels.

The Society for Ecological Restoration

A global community of restoration professionals that includes researchers, practitioners, decision-makers, and community leaders from Africa, Asia, Australia/New Zealand, Europe, and the Americas. SER’s mission is to promote ecological restoration as a means of sustaining the diversity of life on Earth and re-establishing an ecologically healthy relationship between nature and culture.

Post-Eckerd Support and Engagement

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP)
Each Fellowship consists of three years of support during a five-year fellowship period. NSF provides a stipend of $34,000 to the Fellow and a cost-of-education allowance of $12,000 to the graduate degree-granting institution for each Fellow who uses the fellowship support in a fellowship year.
more...less...
The purpose of the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) is to help ensure the vitality and diversity of the scientific and engineering workforce of the United States. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) and in STEM education. The GRFP provides three years of support for the graduate education of individuals who have demonstrated their potential for significant research achievements in STEM and STEM education. NSF especially encourages women, members of underrepresented minority groups, persons with disabilities, and veterans to apply. NSF also encourages undergraduate seniors to apply.

Lots more resources

Careers, Internships, and Experiences in the Marine Sciences

This document has a ton of resources and links to review. It will help to provide a framework for understanding the opportunities in Marine Science broadly.

International Opportunities in Marine Science

This document explores areas in the international space that provide support for students and graduates studying Marine Science.