ONESEARCH JOURNALS & NEWSPAPERS DATABASES INTERLIBRARY LOAN RESEARCH GUIDES GET HELP REPORT IT

Scholarships, Fellowships, Academic Internships, and Grants: Anthropology

This guide is designed to assist members of the Eckerd College Community in identifying scholarships, grants, academic internships, and fellowship opportunities.

Scholarships and Fellowships

AAA Awards (available to members)
The Archaeology Division (AD)
Student Diversity Travel Grant
Established in 2004, these grants are intended to increase participation in AAA sessions and in archaeology more widely by students from historically under-represented populations. Students in archaeology are encouraged to apply for these travel grants to help defray costs associated with attending the AAA meeting. Archaeology students with disabilities are also eligible for this grant. Up to four grants, of up to $600 each, will be awarded.
Student Membership Award  
The Archaeology Division (AD) seeks to support student membership in the AAA and in the AD to maintain and strengthen the representation of archaeology within the AAA.The AD will award the next year’s membership in both AAA and AD to up to 20 students who present archaeological papers or posters at the annual meeting. This award has a value of between $75 and $135, depending on a student’s AAA membership status. All students who present an archaeological paper or poster at the annual meeting are eligible to apply for this award. Up to three awards will be allocated specifically for undergraduates.
Association for Africanist Anthropology (AfAA)
AfAA Undergraduate Student Paper Award
The prize will be awarded to the best undergraduate paper in Africanist anthropology.
Society for Humanistic Anthropology (SHA)
SHA Presidents Award for Undergraduate Student Writing
Undergraduate submissions need not be conference papers. A committee drawn from current, past, and incoming SHA Presidents will judge the papers on originality, creativity, clarity of writing, and most importantly, contribution to humanistic anthropology.
Association for Feminist Anthropology (AFA)
Sylvia Forman Prize
AFA is pleased to invite graduate and undergraduate students to submit essays in feminist anthropology in competition for the Sylvia Forman Prize, named for the late Sylvia Helen Forman, one of the founders of AFA. The winners, one graduate student and one undergraduate student, will receive a certificate; a cash award ($1,000 graduate and $500 undergraduate); and have their essay summaries published in the Anthropology Newsletter.
Society for Linguistic Anthropology (SLA)
Annual Student Essay Prize
The Society for Linguistic Anthropology holds an annual student essay competition at both undergraduate and graduate levels. In order to be eligible for one of these awards, the applicant must have been either a graduate or undergraduate student in a degree-granting program when the paper was written; must be the sole author of the paper; and must submit the paper no more than two years after it was written.
Society for Psychological Anthropology (SPA)
Condon Prize for Best Student Essay in Psychological Anthropology
The Society for Psychological Anthropology each year awards the Richard G. Condon Prize for the best student essay (graduate or undergraduate)in psychological anthropology. The winner is awarded a year's membership in the Society and publication of the paper in Ethos (after appropriate revision as necessary).
Society for the Anthropology of Work (SAW)
June Nash Student Travel Award 
The June Nash Student Travel Award is now available to students who present papers on SAW reviewed panels.
The Middle East Section (MES)
The MES Student Paper Prize
The MES proudly sponsors an annual paper prize for students in anthropology and related disciplines. Established in 2002, the MES Student Paper Prize includes a cash award of $500, ideally to help defray the costs of travel to the annual AAA conference, and recognition at the Middle East Section meeting at the conference. Papers from current undergraduate or graduate students on any aspect of Middle East anthropology will be evaluated according to originality, significance, use of data, and quality of writing.
National Association of Student Anthropologists (NASA)
The Carrie Hunter-Tate Award
The award honors the memory of this former officer of the National Association of Student Anthropologists (NASA). To honor the spirit with which she dedicated herself to the profession of anthropology, NASA has established the “Carrie Hunter-Tate Award,” to be bestowed upon student anthropologists with similar enthusiasm for service to the profession.

Internships and Field Schools

 
Off the Beaten Path Field School -The Off the Beaten Track Summer School offers both budding social scientists and more advanced scholars a rare opportunity to do ethnographic research on an island with 7,000 years of history.
 
Carter Center - For more than 20 years, the Carter Center Internship Program has provided more than 2000 interns with a rewarding complement to classroom experience, enhancing participants' educations and careers in the field of public service. Undergraduate Students need to have completed at least two years of study by the start of the internship.  For example, qualified candidates within the United States will have a minimum of 60 credit hours earned toward their bachelor's degree. 
Center for Strategic and International Studies- CSIS offers full and part-time internships in the fall, spring and summer for undergraduates, advanced students, and recent graduates who are interested in gaining practical experience in public policy.
Earthwatch Institute- Earthwatch Institute’s mission is to promote sustainable conservation of our natural resources and cultural heritage by creating partnerships between scientists, educators and the general public. To realize this mission, Earthwatch Institute has three recognized areas of focus: Research, Education and Conservation.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art- Internship opportunities for college and graduate students interested in careers in art museums. Based upon their academic training and interests, as well as the availability of projects, interns work in one of the Metropolitan's departments—curatorial, education, conservation, administration, or library. Most projects require a strong knowledge of art history.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum-Undergraduate students can apply for summer internships working in one of the Museum's departments.  Interns work directly with Museum staff conducting research, designing and building exhibits, preserving or restoring artifacts, or developing educational materials. 
National Park Service- There are thousands of opportunities for high school, college, and graduate school students to work with the National Park Service. Many of these jobs are filled at the park level but others are advertised and recruited nationally by the National Park Service or in partnership with several national organizations.
The Washington Center - The Washington Center brings students in a wide range of majors from universities to the U.S. capital city and abroad for full-time academic internship programs.

Associations

Alaska Anthropological Association

Promotes public awareness and education of anthropological activities and goal, and fosters sympathetic appreciation of the past and present cultures of Alaskan people.

American Anthropological Association (AAA)

Information on AAA's mission, history, and activities. With news, program overviews, and a staff directory.

American Anthropological Association of Children and Childhood

Interest group devoted to promoting the development of anthropological scholarship focusing on children and childhood.

Anthropology Graduate Student Union at Toronto

Provides a platform for discussion, communication, and discussions of understanding humankind.

Anthropology of Japan in Japan (AJJ)

Organization created to facilitate a multilingual forum for anthropologists and other like-minded scientists in Japan.

Anthropology Student Union

Organization serves the needs and interests of undergraduate and graduate students, provides forum and encourages communication.

Anthropology Students' Association (ASA)

University of Toronto organization representing the concerns of students of Anthropology programs. Provides academic services and a variety of events.

Association for Political and Legal Anthropology

Organization devoted to the ethnographic exploration of politics, law, and other related topics.

Association of Black Anthropologists

Presents the Association's history, officers, and members. With journals and information on the conferences hosted.

Association of Feminist Anthropology

Aims to address the impact of globalization on women and their place in the society.

Association of Social Anthropologists of Aotearoa New Zealand (ASAANZ)

Official ASAANZ website presents the association's constitution, code of ethics, officers, membership, and affiliations.

Canadian Association for Physical Anthropology (CAPA)

Organization of students, young scholars, and leaders who share common interest in the field of physical anthropology.

Florida Anthropological Society

Statewide anthropology and archaeology organization. Site provides information on membership, officers, chapters, and meetings.

H-Sae

Independent consortium of scholars provides discussion on anthropology in Europe.

International Association for Southeast European Anthropology

Interdisciplinary organization composed of scholars involved in studying the present and past social and cultural processes that manifest in the modern beliefs and practices of southeastern Europe.

Lambda Alpha

National collegiate honors society for anthropology with the goal of recognizing the academic achievements of anthropology students.

National Association of Student Anthropologists (NASA)

Represents the interests and concerns of graduate and undergraduate anthropology students. Also promotes anthropologists-in-training. Site presents the NASA bylaws, history, list of officers, and student resources.

Northeastern Anthropological Association (NEAA)

Association that serves as a support platform for anthropologists at all career levels and sub-fields.

Radical Anthropology Group

Provides weekly lectures for everyone interested to learn more about anthropology.

Royal Anthropological Institute

Association promotes public understanding of anthropology, and its contribution to public affairs.

School for Advanced Research

Provides dynamic environment for study about human culture, evolution, history, and creative expression.

Society for Economic Anthropology

Group dedicated to exploring the connections between economics and social life. Information on membership and activities presented.

Society for Medical Anthropology

Provides newsletters in the latest medical anthropology news, academic resources, job opportunities, awards, history and a discussion board.

Society of Anthropology in Community Colleges

Presents organization reports, meeting minutes, and pictures. With anthropological computer, topical, and pedagogical resources.

Southwestern Anthropological Association

Organization in the industrial and non-profit sector recognizes the value of anthropology to policy, research and development.

Terralingua

Nonprofit international organization supports the integrated protection, maintenance, and restoration of the biocultural diversity of life.

Washington Association of Professional Anthropologists

Association profile including information on membership, events, anthropology news, awards and programs.

World Council of Anthropological Associations (WCAA)

Network of national and international anthropological groups committed to promoting international communication and cooperation in the field of anthropology.