ONESEARCH JOURNALS & NEWSPAPERS DATABASES INTERLIBRARY LOAN RESEARCH GUIDES GET HELP REPORT IT

Scholarships, Fellowships, Academic Internships, and Grants: Theatre

This guide is designed to assist members of the Eckerd College Community in identifying scholarships, grants, academic internships, and fellowship opportunities.

Scholarships and Fellowships

The Vaclav Havel Library Foundation is a nonprofit organization established in the United States to honor, preserve, and build upon the legacy of playwright, dissident and former President of Czechoslovakia and the Czech Republic, Vaclav Havel. Each year, the Library Foundation together with the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague seeks undergraduate play submissions based on a theme drawn from a play by Vaclav Havel. The winner receives a two week trip to Prague which includes a residency and staged reading of their play at the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague and visits to Prague theaters. 

We hope you will pass this on to undergraduate students majoring in the writing and theater arts or Slavic studies, or any other undergraduate students who may be interested in this opportunity. The deadline for submission is May 15, 2020. See attachment for additional competition guidelines.

Last year we received over 20 submissions from universities from all parts of the country!    

Please contact us with any questions. 

Thank you very much for your help.

Best regards, Pavla Niklova

 

 

 

Pavla Niklova
Executive Director

VACLAV HAVEL LIBRARY FOUNDATION
at the Bohemian National Hall
321 East 73rd Street, New York, NY 10021

Internships

Opportunities

 

PERFORMING ARTS 

Actors Fund www.actorsfund.org 

American Alliance for Theatre and Education www.aate.com/?page=aatefunding 

Association of Performing Arts Presenters (APAP): The Cultural Exchange Fund www.apap365.org 

Bossak Heilbron Charitable Foundation (dance) Bhcf.grant@gmail.com 

Chamber Music America www.chamber-music.org 

Dance Films Association (dance films only) www.dancefilms.org 

Dramatists Guild Fund, Inc. www.dramatistsguildfund.org 

Franklin Furnace Fund for Performance Art www.franklinfurnace.org 

The Fromm Music Foundation at Harvard University (composing) http://frommfoundation.fas.harvard.edu 

Jerome Fund For New Music https://composersforum.org/program/jfund 

Jim Henson Foundation (puppet theater) www.hensonfoundation.org 

American Theater Wing: Jonathan Larson Grants (musical theater) www.americantheatrewing.org 

The Kleban Foundation, Inc. (musical theater) www.newdramatists.org 

The Multi-Arts Production Fund www.mapfund.org 

New England Foundation for the Arts www.nefa.org 

New Music USA www.newmusicusa.org 

Puppeteers of America http://www.puppeteers.org/who-we-are/grants-scholarships 

PERFORMING ARTS (cont’d) 

Sparkplug Foundation (music) www.sparkplugfoundation.org 

Theater Communications Group www.tcg.org 

VISUAL ARTS 

A Blade of Grass www.abladeofgrass.org 

Aaron Siskind Foundation (photography) www.aaronsiskind.org 

Adolph and Esther Gottlieb Foundation, Inc. www.gottliebfoundation.org 

The Aftermath Project (documentary photography) www.theaftermathproject.org 

Alexia Foundation (photo journalism) www.alexiafoundation.org 

The Astrea Lesbian Foundation for Social justice: Astrea Lesbian Visual Arts Fund www.astraeafoundation.org 

Barbara Deming Memorial Fund (women artists only) www.demingfund.org 

Center for Craft, Creativity, and Design http://www.craftcreativitydesign.org 

Emily Hall Tremaine Exhibition Award www.tremainefoundation.org 

En Foco New Works Photography Fellowship (photography) www.enfoco.org 

Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts www.grahamfoundation.org 

Harpo Foundation www.harpofoundation.org 

The Lillian Orlowsky and William Freed Foundation Grant (painters 45 or older) www.paam.org/education/the-lillian-orlowsky-and-william-freed-foundation-grant 

VISUAL ARTS (cont’d) 

The National Sculpture Society www.nationalsculpture.org 

The Joan Mitchell Foundation www.joanmitchellfoundation.org 

NYC Department of Parks & Recreation: Clare Weiss Emerging Artist Award (public art) www.nycgovparks.org/art-and-antiquities/clare-weiss-award 

Pollock Krasner Foundation, Inc. (2D work) www.pkf.org 

The Ruth Chenven Foundation www.chenvenfoundation.org 

United States Institute of Technology (design) www.usitt.org 

Virginia A. Groot Foundation (sculptors) www.virginiaagrootfoundation.org 

The W. Eugene Smith Memorial Fund (photography) www.smithfund.org 

William H. Johnson Prize (early-career African American artists) www.whjohnsongrant.org

INFORMATION RESOURCES FOR GRANTSEEKERS 

ONLINE DATABASES OF GRANTS AND RESOURCES 

NYFA Source, New York Foundation for the Arts NYFA Source is the most extensive national directory of awards, services, and publications for individual artists. Listings include over 12,000 awards, services and publications for individual artists and art professionals across the country. More programs are added every day to this online database. Tutorials on using the system are offered periodically by NYFA staff. source.nyfa.org 

The Foundation Center Established in 1956, Foundation Center is the leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide. Foundation Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants — a robust, accessible knowledge bank for the sector, including more than 108,000 foundations, corporate donors, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S. and over 3 million of their recent grants. It also operates research, education, and training programs designed to advance knowledge of philanthropy at every level. Thousands of people visit Foundation Center's website each day and are served in its five library/learning centers and at more than 470 Funding Information Network locations nationwide and around the world. The website features Foundation Directory Online, an extensive search engine for finding grantmakers, available for free and at subscription levels that offer increased information access –including a dedicated search engine for individual artists. The New York grants library is at 79 Fifth Avenue. www.foundationcenter.org 

PEN American Center PEN's Grants & Awards database is available for a low annual subscription, and contains more than 1,500 listings of domestic and foreign grants, literary awards, fellowships, and residencies. Grants & Awards is a comprehensive online database available to writers of all income brackets, at work in all genres, and at various levels of achievement. Search by keyword, genre, organization, or deadline. Updated every month, Grants & Awards is assured to offer the most current listings online. www.pen.org

NONPROFIT/PHILANTHROPIC PUBLICATIONS Find out what grantmakers, development officers and nonprofits are thinking and talking about by subscribing to nonprofit and philanthropic publications. Requests for proposals, new programs, trends and research are available that might help your fundraising efforts. 

The Grantmakers in the Arts (GIA) Reader Anyone can subscribe to the GIA Reader. Artists, grantmakers, arts managers, cultural critics, and historians contribute to GIA’s periodical, the Grantmakers in the Arts Reader, which features readings on arts and culture, reports from arts grantmakers, and summaries of recently published reports, books, and studies. www.giarts.org 

The Chronicle of Philanthropy The Chronicle of Philanthropy is the newspaper of the nonprofit world. It is the No. 1 news source, in print and online, for charity leaders, fundraisers, grant makers, and other people involved in the philanthropic enterprise. Note: this publication covers multiple philanthropic sectors and is not arts-specific. www.philanthropy.com Philanthropy News Digest Philanthropy News Digest (PND), a daily news service of the Foundation Center, is a compendium, in digest form, of philanthropy-related articles and features culled from print and electronic media outlets nationwide. PND offers listings of RFPs, jobs and classifieds for the sector, with a dedicated arts and culture RFP listing. philanthropynewsdigest.org 

FUNDING RESOURCES FOR INDIVIDUAL ARTISTS 

The following list, organized by discipline, includes funders that offer one or more programs or awards that provide direct support to individual artists by application. This list is provided to facilitate the grant research process. Always read program guidelines and material provided directly from the funding institution to determine your eligibility to apply. 

VARIED DISCIPLINES 

Asian Cultural Council www.asianculturalcouncil.org 

The Awesome Foundation for the Arts and Sciences www.awesomefoundation.org 

Black Rock Arts Foundation www.blackrockarts.org 

Brooklyn Arts Council www.brooklynartscouncil.org 

Bronx Council on the Arts www.bronxarts.org 

CEC Arts Link www.cecartslink.org 

Cintas Foundation (Cuban descent only) www.cintasfoundation.org 

Creative Capital Foundation www.creative-capital.org 

Duke University: Center for Documentary Studies (film and photography) documentarystudies.duke.edu 

VARIED DISCIPLINES (CONT’D) 

Foundation for Contemporary Arts www.foundationforcontemporaryarts.org 

Jerome Foundation www.jeromefdn.org 

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Fund www.gf.org 

Lower Manhattan Cultural Council www.lmcc.net 

Mid-Atlantic Arts Foundation www.midatlanticarts.org 

National Association of Latino Arts and Culture (NALAC) www.nalac.org 

National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts www.youngarts.org 

National League of American Pen Women www.nlapw.org 

National Museum of the American Indian: Indigenous Contemporary Arts Program www.nmai.si.edu 

New York Foundation for the Arts www.nyfa.org 

New York State Council on the Arts: Individual Artists Program www.nysca.org 

Princess Grace Foundation – USA www.pgfusa.com 

Puffin Foundation, Ltd. www.puffinfoundation.org 

Queens Council on the Arts queenscouncilarts.org 

Six Points Fellowship www.sixpointsfellowship.org 

Staten Island Arts www.statenislandarts.org 

Sustainable Arts Foundation (visual arts and literature) www.sustainableartsfoundation.org 

VARIED DISCIPLINES (CONT’D) 

Surdna Foundation: Thriving Cultures Program / Artists Engaging in Social Change www.surdna.org 

The Vilcek Foundation www.vilcek.org 

LITERARY ARTS 

The Academy of American Poets www.poets.org 

American Literary Review www.americanliteraryreview.com 

Amy Lowell Poetry Travelling Scholarship www.amylowell.org 

The Astrea Lesbian Foundation for Justice: The Lesbian Writers Fund www.astraeafoundation.org 

Barbara Deming Memorial Fund (women artists only) www.demingfund.org 

The Christopher Isherwood Fund (fiction) www.isherwoodfoundation.org 

Elizabeth George Foundation www.elizabethgeorgeonline.com/foundation.htm 

Graywolf Press www.graywolfpress.org 

Hurston/Wright Foundation (African descent writers only) http://www.hurstonwright.org 

Lambda Literary Foundation www.lambdaliterary.org 

National Endowment for the Arts www.nea.gov 

Princeton University Hodder Fellowship www.princeton.edu/arts/lewis_center/society_of_fellows 

Speculative Literature Foundation http://speculativeliterature.org/grants 

MEDIA & FILM 

The Arch Bruce Brown Foundation http://aabbfoundation.org/grant-guidelines 

Center for Asian American Media (CAAM) www.caamedia.org 

Cinereach www.cinereach.org 

Creative District www.creativedistrict.com 

The Fledgling Fund www.thefledglingfund.org 

Wave Farm http://wavefarm.org/mag 

From the Heart Productions www.fromtheheartproductions.com 

Independent Television Service (ITVS) www.itvs.org 

International Documentary Association: Pare Lorentz Documentary Fund www.documentary.org/parelorentz 

Latino Public Broadcasting www.lpbp.org 

National Endowment for the Humanities (Documentary) www.neh.gov 

National Geographic: All Roads Seed Grant Program www.nationalgeographic.com/explorers 

New York Women in Film & Television www.nywift.org 

San Francisco Film Society (National Programs) www.sffs.org/Filmmaker360/Grants 

Sundance Documentary Fund http://www.sundance.org/programs/documentary-film#grants 

Tribeca Film Institute www.tribecafilminstitute.org 

The Women in Film Foundation www.wif.org/foundation/film-finishing-fund

Associations

Entertainment-Industry Unions & Professional Organizations:

  • Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) 
  • Academy of Television Arts & Sciences 
  • Actors' Equity Association (AEA) 
  • The Actors Fund 
  • Alliance for Women in Media 
  • Alliance of Motion Pictures & Television Producers (AMPTP) 
  • American Association of Independent Music (A2IM) 
  • American Cinema Editors, Inc. (ACE) 
  • American Cinematheque at the Egyptian & Aero Theatres 
  • American Guild of Musical Artists (AGMA) 
  • American Guild of Variety Artists (AGVA) 
  • American Humane Association Film & TV Unit 
  • American Screenwriters Association (ASA) 
  • American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) 
  • American Society of Composers, Authors & Publishers (ASCAP) 
  • American Society of Young Musicians (ASYM) 
  • Art Directors Guild & Scenic, Title, and Graphic Artists 
  • The Association of Celebrity Personal Assistants 
  • Association of Independent Commercial Producers (AICP) 
  • Association of Talent Agents (ATA) 
  • BMI 
  • California Arts Council (CAC) 
  • CineStory 
  • Commercial Casting Directors Association (CCDA) 
  • Costume Designers Guild (CDG) 
  • Directors Guild of America (DGA) 
  • Doculink 
  • Film Festival Group 
  • Film Independent 
  • Filmmakers Alliance (FA) 
  • Hispanic Organization of Latin Actors (HOLA) 
  • Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) 
  • Hollywood Radio & Television Society (HRTS) 
  • Horror Writers Association 
  • The HUMANITAS Prize 
  • Independent Film & Television Alliance (IFTA) 
  • Independent Filmmaker's Project (IFP) 
  • International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE) 
  • International Documentary Association 
  • Location Managers Guild of America 
  • Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) 
  • Motion Picture Editors Guild 
  • Multicultural Motion Picture Association (MMPA) 
  • Music Video Production Association (MVPA) 
  • National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences (NARAS) 
  • National Association of Broadcast Employees and Technicians (NABET-CWA) 
  • National Association of Latino Independent Producers (NALIP) 
  • National Conference of Personal Managers (NCOPM) 
  • National Council of La Raza (NCLR) 
  • New York Women in Film & Television 
  • The Norman Lear Center 
  • The Organization of Black Screenwriters (OBS) 
  • PEN 
  • Producers Guild of America (PGA) 
  • SAG-AFTRA 
  • Scriptwriters Network 
  • Society of Camera Operators (SOC) 
  • Stage Directors & Choreographers Society (SDC) 
  • Talent Managers Association (TMA) 
  • The Black Filmmaker Foundation (BFF) 
  • Women In Film (WIF) 
  • Writers Guild of America (WGA) 

Quickly browse through Call Sheet's searchable database of Professional Organizations to find key details, links, contact information, and more for all of the top entertainment-industry unions and support organizations.